Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Archives > Archives > DVD Talk Archive
Reload this Page >

Why do you collect DVDs?

Why do you collect DVDs?

Old 09-11-03, 03:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why do you collect DVDs?

Just wondering why people collect DVDs...will they really watch the movie enough times to justify buying it? Is it just like any other hobby? I saw one guy wiht over 2500 dvd...HOLY SNIKEYS!!!

I'm only up to 150 DVD's so far...but then I start thinking "will they be obsolete once HD-DVD comes out?"...and if they are compatible with the new HD players...I'm gonna want all the HD versions of my movies then....it's a never ending cycle of upgrading!!!!
Old 09-11-03, 03:20 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

well for me, it's because i just love movies. i am a musician and to only have one or limited movies would be like only having one piece of music.

as for the cost, with CH and the low average, i only have to watch a movie twice over the course of owning it to justify the cost. and i don't even have to go anywhere to get it or take it back.
Old 09-11-03, 03:53 PM

I find that it fulfills my need to have an obsessive-compulsive behavior disorder.
Old 09-11-03, 03:54 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 265 Likes on 168 Posts
Watching a $12 movie once is a lot better than people buying $27 hardcover books that they read once.
Old 09-11-03, 04:03 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
I need to spend my money on something.
Old 09-11-03, 04:18 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

I love watching movies and would rather spend my money on DVD's than drugs
Old 09-11-03, 04:21 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

It boosts my ego and self-esteem when I tell people I have "x" amount of DVD's and then watch their reaction.
Old 09-11-03, 04:22 PM
Defunct Account