Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Game questions from a newb

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-21, 11:07 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 651 Likes on 468 Posts
Game questions from a newb

I have never ventured into this forum before, I did look at the stickies to see if there were rules that I should not break, so please go easy on me...

I am looking to buy a gaming system for me and my 10 year old daughter. I am new to all of this. Based on what I have seen and read, I think it will be a Switch (though if you want to convince me I'm wrong, go ahead, since I am a newb). I have two questions:
  1. How likely is it that the Switch goes on sale for Black Friday? I have been waiting because it seemed like the type of item that would, but with supply chain issues I definitely don't want to wait if that is a silly idea.
  2. It looks like the system comes with no games. What games should I get that we both will enjoy? Cost is an issue, because I'm broke, so cheaper games are a plus. I know she likes racing type games (and I would too), and I think she would dig adventure games.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by LurkerDan; 11-02-21 at 02:56 PM.
Old 10-13-21, 11:27 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 2,168 Likes on 1,668 Posts
Re: Game questions from a newb

First off, I think a Nintendo system is definitely the way to go at that age.

The new Switch OLED just came out and will be tough to get but the "regular" Switch should be plentiful, though I'm not sure about what kind of deals you'll get... the most you'll probably get is a bundle or maybe 10-20 off if you want to wait. Do not get a Switch Lite because it is portable only if you want to be able to play with her on the big screen.

Nintendo published games generally don't go on deep clearance like other systems, so if you want like the Mario stuff the biggest discount you'll get new is like 15 bucks or so. But they are for the most part fantastic games.