Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Movie Talk
Reload this Page >

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Yen

Movie Talk A Discussion area for everything movie related including films In The Theaters

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Yen

Old 06-23-16, 07:51 AM
  #676  
DVD Talk Legend
 
bluetoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11,055
Received 94 Likes on 72 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Originally Posted by Sean O'Hara View Post
I watched the Genndy Tartakovsky version but not the CG series. Because fuck any studio that would dump Genndy Tartakovsky for CG.
What about a studio that would dump him and CG? Like what happened with Popeye.
Old 06-23-16, 09:14 AM
  #677  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Formerly known as Groucho AND Bandoman/Death Moans, Iowa
Posts: 17,822
Received 182 Likes on 126 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

I never watched Clone Wars because it came out during a time when I was pretty burned out on Star Wars thanks to the prequels. I might revisit the series now.
Old 06-23-16, 09:30 AM
  #678  
Moderator
 
dex14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37,117
Likes: 0
Received 2,060 Likes on 1,423 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Darth Vader Lives! New details on the Sith lord's return in 'Rogue One: A Star Wars Story'
http://www.ew.com/article/2016/06/23...-one-star-wars
Old 06-23-16, 11:52 AM
  #679  
Premium Member
 
E Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In my Breakfast Nook looking at Why So Blu
Posts: 17,031
Received 517 Likes on 405 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Hooray.
Old 06-23-16, 11:23 PM
  #680  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Josh-da-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Bible Belt
Posts: 37,189
Received 1,007 Likes on 732 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

The Tartakovsky series was decanonized when the CGI Clone Wars came out, wasn't it?

Is there anything in the CGI series that contradicts the Tartakovsky series? The only issue I can think of is the death of Asajj Ventress, and even then it didn't seem definitive. If they could bring Darth Maul back aftergetting sawed in half, her fall off of a cliff doesn't seem like that big of a deal.
Old 06-24-16, 11:29 AM
  #681  
DVD Talk Legend
 
milo bloom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 15,888
Received 688 Likes on 521 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Originally Posted by Josh-da-man View Post
The Tartakovsky series was decanonized when the CGI Clone Wars came out, wasn't it?

Is there anything in the CGI series that contradicts the Tartakovsky series? The only issue I can think of is the death of Asajj Ventress, and even then it didn't seem definitive. If they could bring Darth Maul back aftergetting sawed in half, her fall off of a cliff doesn't seem like that big of a deal.
Yeah, Asajj came to mind but like the saying goes : "no body-no death"

Otherwise I think they can both be enjoyed together. I gladly own and watch them both.
Old 06-24-16, 10:15 PM
  #682  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Josh-da-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Bible Belt
Posts: 37,189
Received 1,007 Likes on 732 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

I have the two Tartakovsky DVDs, and a blu-ray of the Clone Wars CGI movie I was able to snag for cheap after it went OOP. Still need to get the Clone Wars 1-5 (boxed set?) and Lost Missions blu-rays.

The CGI movie, the only bit of that version of CW I've seen so far, wasn't bad and, aside from everyone looking like puppets, the CGI wasn't bad. Much better than Rebels.
Old 07-06-16, 05:46 PM
  #683  
Moderator
 
dex14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37,117
Likes: 0
Received 2,060 Likes on 1,423 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Secrets of the Force Awakens: A Cinematic Journey will air on ABC Friday, July 15th.

The making of 'Star Wars: The Force Awakens'; a 3-minute trailer for 'Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.'

Last edited by dex14; 07-06-16 at 06:20 PM.
Old 07-06-16, 06:16 PM
  #684  
Premium Member
 
E Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In my Breakfast Nook looking at Why So Blu
Posts: 17,031
Received 517 Likes on 405 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Air where?
Old 07-06-16, 06:20 PM
  #685  
Moderator
 
dex14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 37,117
Likes: 0
Received 2,060 Likes on 1,423 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Abc
Old 07-15-16, 10:49 AM
  #686  
DVD Talk Hero
 
B.A.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: East County
Posts: 34,201
Received 81 Likes on 68 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y



Today’s schedule (subject to change):
11:00 a.m. BST / 6:00 a.m. EDT / 3:00 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Show LIVE! – Friday Preview

11:30 a.m. BST / 6:00 a.m. EDT / 3:00 a.m. PDT
An Hour With Mark Hamill

1:00 p.m. BST / 8:00 a.m. EDT / 5:00 a.m. PDT
Ahsoka’s Untold Tales

2:00 p.m. BST / 9:00 a.m. EDT / 6:00 a.m. PDT
ILM Presents: Star Wars Archeology

3:45 p.m. BST / 10:45 a.m. EDT / 7:45 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Show LIVE! – Rogue One Panel Preview

4:00 p.m. BST / 11:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

5:00 p.m. BST / 12:00 p.m. EDT / 9:00 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Show LIVE! – Rogue One Reaction
Old 07-15-16, 11:35 AM
  #687  
DVD Talk Hero
 
B.A.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: East County
Posts: 34,201
Received 81 Likes on 68 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Old 07-15-16, 11:53 AM
  #688  
Premium Member
 
E Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In my Breakfast Nook looking at Why So Blu
Posts: 17,031
Received 517 Likes on 405 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Cool video game poster.
Old 07-15-16, 12:00 PM
  #689  
Premium Member
 
E Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In my Breakfast Nook looking at Why So Blu
Posts: 17,031
Received 517 Likes on 405 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Can't embed, but a short behind the scenes.

https://www.facebook.com/StarWars/vi...8742985843967/
Old 07-15-16, 12:14 PM
  #690  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Somewhere between Heaven and Hell
Posts: 32,194
Received 343 Likes on 247 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Originally Posted by trespoochies View Post
Can't embed, but a short behind the scenes.

https://www.facebook.com/StarWars/vi...8742985843967/
Old 07-15-16, 12:19 PM
  #691  
DVD Talk Platinum Edition
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,348
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y


Where was the frickin' trailer?


Kathleen Kennedy made it seem like the Celebration audience got to see the trailer (when she said "put away your cellphones") while the rest of us online streamers just saw a re-hash of the showreel.
Old 07-15-16, 12:32 PM
  #692  
DVD Talk Platinum Edition
 
joe_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,219
Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

^ Isn't it supposed to air on ABC tonight? They don't want it leaking early since that's the main reason fans who've already seen the documentary would bother tuning in.
Old 07-15-16, 12:43 PM
  #693  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
mdc3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Posts: 9,921
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Trailer won't air tonight - confirmed to just be the behind the scenes sizzle reel - probably be online and in theatres in a few weeks (around Suicide Squad/Pete's Dragon) but at least for now, you had to be in the room to see it.
Old 07-15-16, 01:42 PM
  #694  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Josh-da-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Bible Belt
Posts: 37,189
Received 1,007 Likes on 732 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Tonight on ABC there's a special called "Secrets of The Force Awakens: A Cinematic Journey."
Old 07-15-16, 01:48 PM
  #695  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,218
Received 109 Likes on 75 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

I won't post the link, but if you go to Star Wars Leaks Reddit, scroll down... you'll find a terrible (but only so far) recording of the trailer. You get to see the beginning and ending mostly, it gives you the idea.
Old 07-15-16, 01:50 PM
  #696  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Josh-da-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Bible Belt
Posts: 37,189
Received 1,007 Likes on 732 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Anyone know if they addressed the reshoot controversy at Celebration?
Old 07-15-16, 01:57 PM
  #697  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Formerly known as Groucho AND Bandoman/Death Moans, Iowa
Posts: 17,822
Received 182 Likes on 126 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Would there be more to say than what's already been said?

http://www.ew.com/article/2016/06/23...shoot-concerns
Old 07-15-16, 03:37 PM
  #698  
Inane Thread Master, 2018 TOTY
 
OldBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Are any of us really anywhere?
Posts: 44,796
Received 376 Likes on 333 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Originally Posted by Josh-da-man View Post
Tonight on ABC there's a special called "Secrets of The Force Awakens: A Cinematic Journey."
Yeah, gonna record it. Looks good.
Old 07-15-16, 03:44 PM
  #699  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Josh-da-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Bible Belt
Posts: 37,189
Received 1,007 Likes on 732 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y

Originally Posted by majorjoe23 View Post
Would there be more to say than what's already been said?

http://www.ew.com/article/2016/06/23...shoot-concerns
Dunno. But if Edwards and the cast were taking questions from the audience ir could get interesting.
Old 07-15-16, 04:39 PM
  #700  
DVD Talk Legend
 
DaveyJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 19,223
Received 111 Likes on 80 Posts
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (12/16/16, D: Edwards) S: Jones, Luna, Mendelsohn, Y


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.