Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

One-And-Only Malata Advice Thread [Part Three]

International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

One-And-Only Malata Advice Thread [Part Three]

Old 01-25-02, 12:03 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Moscow-Cassiopea Transit
Posts: 900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Any news about "Thesis"? It also freezes on my Malata...
Ashirg is offline  
Old 02-07-02, 01:26 PM
  #2  
DVD Talk Legend
 
d2cheer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 11,347
Received 243 Likes on 176 Posts
I think I originally posted this in the wrong thead so I will put it here,


This may sound dumb or look like I don't know S**T but, what should the setting be for Dynamic Range IF I want the full surround effect? I am a little confused by the settings. On my other DVD player I had the option of off or on.


Full, Medium or Minimum these can be interpreted different ways(like apparently I am)

Full for full surround or full Dynamic Range? Get it?

Thank for any help and I know I sound like a bonehead.....
d2cheer is online now  
Old 02-07-02, 04:28 PM
  #3  
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: ca
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
malata freezing

Has anyone encountered a problem with the malata freezing after the layer switch on dual layered discs? Mine refuses to play much beyond the layer change and gives me the dreaded "disc error--replace me" message. Any suggestions?
thomasdasilva is offline  
Old 02-08-02, 01:47 AM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I just got my Malata about 2 weeks ago (Nov. firmware) and I don't think I've played a dual-layered disc yet. I'll have to get one and try it out. No one else has yet to mention this problem (?)
sharkattack2000 is offline  
Old 02-08-02, 11:16 AM
  #5  
Mod Emeritus
 
benedict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Outside of the U.S.A.
Posts: 10,674
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
One-And-Only Malata Problem Busting Thread [Part Three]

For those already possessing a Malata and/or interested in how it functions [or, occasionally, doesn't] please feel free to continue the Q&As here - although you may care to check out the original threads first: one, two

Above, I've carried over from the second thread a few posts that may still benefit from replies....


Benedict
Moderator, national DVD & Movie Forum

Last edited by benedict; 02-08-02 at 11:24 AM.
benedict is offline  
Old 02-08-02, 01:51 PM
  #6  
DVD Talk Gold Edition
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,261
Received 182 Likes on 149 Posts
Has anyone encountered a problem with the malata freezing after the layer switch on dual layered discs? Mine refuses to play much beyond the layer change and gives me the dreaded "disc error--replace me" message. Any suggestions?
Not me, I've certainly played plenty of dual layer disks without encountering any problems. Sounds to me like you have a defective player (unless you've tried only one disk and it is defective).

Ted
Ted Todorov is offline  
Old 02-08-02, 04:06 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 57
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Not me, I've certainly played plenty of dual layer disks without encountering any problems. Sounds to me like you have a defective player (unless you've tried only one disk and it is defective).
What version firmware do you have though ??
sharkattack2000 is offline  
Old 02-08-02, 05:31 PM
  #8  
Needs to contact an admin about multiple accounts
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 839
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have the original firmware and no later change problems. My player is one of the first sold in the U.S.
Matt Stevens is offline  
Old 02-09-02, 02:57 PM
  #9  
Guest
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: USA - Bush: Selected, not elected
Posts: 12,212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is there a way to turn off forced subs? My Pioneer does so I'm curious about the Malata.
codefree is offline  
Old 02-09-02, 05:23 PM
  #10  
Mod Emeritus
 
benedict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Outside of the U.S.A.
Posts: 10,674
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Looking back though the old threads....

.... I think Matt Stevens posted his guess here: link
benedict is offline  
Old 02-09-02, 06:24 PM
  #11  
Guest
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: USA - Bush: Selected, not elected
Posts: 12,212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Looking back though the old threads....

Originally posted by benedict
.... I think Matt Stevens posted his guess here: link
Excellent, thanks!
codefree is offline  
Old 02-11-02, 04:31 PM
  #12  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: California
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have the Malata N996 with the most recent firmware and I have not had problems with dual layerd discs.

Brent
bcelmins is offline  
Old 02-11-02, 05:51 PM
  #13  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 36,166
Received 1,217 Likes on 811 Posts
One more time, is there a way to dim that darn front panel display? This thing is worse than a Christmas tree.
eXcentris is offline  
Old 02-13-02, 08:01 AM
  #14  
Cool New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Annandale, Va.
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No problems here. November player and firmware.
farscape66 is offline  
Old 02-13-02, 01:34 PM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: California
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Although I have also run into the problem with Thesis, so it seems that the disk is just not compatible with the player for whatever reason.

Brent
bcelmins is offline  
Old 02-13-02, 09:09 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 329
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I had a power surge in my building a couple of days ago and thought nothing of it. I just went to fire up the old Malata to watch a South Park disc, and it is completely dead. ("Oh my God, they killed the Malata! You b*stards!)

I bought this from AVDeals back in August. There is nothing remotely resembling warranty information in my box, and I doubt it would help anyway. Anyone have any hints as to what I should do? If AVDeals won't fix it under warranty, would they do it for a fee? Or should I just start looking for a new one?
Trinitron is offline  
Old 02-13-02, 11:44 PM
  #17  
Moderator
 
TheBigDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 12,397
Received 492 Likes on 354 Posts
Originally posted by bcelmins
Although I have also run into the problem with Thesis, so it seems that the disk is just not compatible with the player for whatever reason.
Are you guys talking about the US DVD or the UK DVD? I just ordered the UK DVD, but if it won't play on the Malata I'll cancel my order. Thanks.
TheBigDave is offline  
Old 02-14-02, 01:19 AM
  #18  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: California
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am referring to the US DVD

Brent
bcelmins is offline  
Old 02-14-02, 09:59 AM
  #19  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston
Posts: 11,737
Received 236 Likes on 172 Posts
Malata vs. Twin Peaks pilot R0 DVD

I don't see this mentioned here yet, but the Malata N996 locks up when playing the R0 Twin Peaks pilot episode DVD from Taiwan. It will not get past the copyright screens. Fortunately, there is a solution:

1) Press Stop during the Copyright screen
2) Press Program (PRO)
3) Press 1 then OK
4) Press 1 then OK again
5) Press Play

That takes you to track 1 of chapter 1, from which point you can access the disc menu.

Thanks for Nik Simpson from alt.video.dvd for this information.
Josh Z is offline  
Old 02-14-02, 10:46 AM
  #20  
Needs to contact an admin about multiple accounts
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 839
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
That DVD (the first pressing) will lock up almost any DVD player. it's just badly encoded.
Matt Stevens is offline  
Old 02-14-02, 03:20 PM
  #21  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston
Posts: 11,737
Received 236 Likes on 172 Posts
Originally posted by Matt Stevens
That DVD (the first pressing) will lock up almost any DVD player. it's just badly encoded.
Not that I'm disagreeing, but the disc plays fine in my Toshiba and I did not realize there was a problem getting it to work in the Malata until someone pointed it out to me.

As I said, there is a solution. So in the end it is no big deal. I just wanted to bring this to the attention of anyone who tries the disc in this player.
Josh Z is offline  
Old 02-15-02, 10:54 PM
  #22  
DVD Talk Reviewer
 
Slumbering Fist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 3,272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Okay I did my best to search and scan every previous thread-

I just got my Malata N966 (from avdeals). I played my first DVD on it tonight, and when ejecting the movie (getting close to the player) I noticed that it smelled- hot- like perhaps the slight burning of electricity? a big uh-oh... I was wondering if maybe it was just a "new DVD player smell" or if anyone has heard reports of players overheating?
Slumbering Fist is offline  
Old 02-15-02, 11:29 PM
  #23  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Redwood Shores, CA
Posts: 362
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I just got mine the other day and noticed the same smell. I think, and hope, it is just "new player" smell. I've played about 5 DVDs on it over the past couple of days and the smell seems to be going away. Plus, the player still works just fine so that's a good sign, too.
Lint is offline  
Old 02-16-02, 09:36 AM
  #24  
DVD Talk Legend
 
d2cheer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 11,347
Received 243 Likes on 176 Posts
Originally posted by Slumbering Fist
Okay I did my best to search and scan every previous thread-

I just got my Malata N966 (from avdeals). I played my first DVD on it tonight, and when ejecting the movie (getting close to the player) I noticed that it smelled- hot- like perhaps the slight burning of electricity? a big uh-oh... I was wondering if maybe it was just a "new DVD player smell" or if anyone has heard reports of players overheating?
If I remember correctly mine kinda did the same thing, but the DVD's never got hot and I don't notice it anymore and the player works perfectly.
d2cheer is online now  
Old 02-17-02, 05:13 PM
  #25  
Guest
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: USA - Bush: Selected, not elected
Posts: 12,212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Removing Forced Subs

Originally posted by benedict
.... I think Matt Stevens posted his guess here: link
Matt's guess that forced subs could be removed was correct. Here's how: Change subpicture option from always to never. It's that easy! No more forced French subs on my R2 imports of "Nightwatch" and "Wrongfully Accused."
codefree is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.