Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

PS4 game recommendations?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-19, 01:44 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 108 Likes on 75 Posts
PS4 game recommendations?

I've been playing games for more than 40 years, starting with Commodore 64 and Magnavox Odyssey. So the medium is really a life long passion for me but the last year or so ive been increasingly sad or frustrated with playing them. I've got so many titles started and not finished just because I lose my interest or get overwhelmed.

I'm sick of open world, hub map games with so many missions you lose track of what the main game is.
I don't want to have to double back to areas.

Looking for story driven, linear games similar to Last of Us or BioShock.

Anyone else going through this?
Old 02-08-19, 02:28 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 1,022 Likes on 812 Posts
Re: PS4 game recommendations?

I don't care for open world very much. My overall favorite game so far this generation has been Bloodborne which has some backtracking involved (kind of in line with a Metroidvania title, like Symphony of the Night)

Did you try God of War, Dark Souls III, The Tomb Raider games, Resident Evil 2 and 7, Yakuza 0, Wolfenstein II, Doom, or Uncharted 4? Hellblade maybe?

Uncharted 4 would obviously be the closest to Last of Us.
Old 02-08-19, 05:36 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

The newest Tomb Raider is one of the ones I've started but just have no interest in finishing. It's not like the old ones. I've played all the Uncharted.
Old 02-08-19, 06:20 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Alien Isolation, Batman Arkham Collection and Arkham Knight, any Dishonored games, Doom, Evil Within, DmC, Metro collection, Titanfall 2, Until Dawn
Old 02-08-19, 06:27 PM
DVD Talk Godfather & 2020 TOTY Winner

Received 6,200 Likes on 4,227 Posts

God of War is magnificent and not really open world. I mean it kinda is but is really story driven and it's clear where to do to next.