Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

game pricing

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-04, 03:52 PM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
game pricing

I am relatively new at gaming, but one thing has me curious: I notice that unlike, say, DVDs, new games have a set price (usually $50) which retailers are not able to deviate from. Is there some sort of rule that store cannot mark down new titles?
Old 02-20-04, 03:54 PM
Banned

Re: game pricing

Originally posted by horatio
I am relatively new at gaming, but one thing has me curious: I notice that unlike, say, DVDs, new games have a set price (usually $50) which retailers are not able to deviate from. Is there some sort of rule that store cannot mark down new titles?
Technically, that would be against the law, but they find ways around it. They basically tell the retailers, either you sell the game at X price or we won't send you any games to sell. The videogame business is so huge that they have to stay at that set price in order to get a slice of the pie.
Old 02-20-04, 03:59 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 917 Likes on 677 Posts
Yep, it's called unilateral pricing. Just like he said, it's illegal to force a retailer to sell at a cirtain price, but the manufacturer can just decide to not do business with that retailer anymore if they don't like the prices they are using. Ahh, the wonders of loop-holes.
Old 02-20-04, 04:00 PM

Received 122 Likes on 84 Posts
Bear in mind that DVD's tend to stay the same price for a long time, whereas video games usually have a big drop after a few months.
Old 02-20-04, 04:04 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

yeah, and as the buyer, you have a lot of power. imo, games should cost about $20. it would probably be good for the industry - decrease piracy, and increase market penetration.
Old 02-20-04, 04:08 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've always felt $30-$40 was a good price point for optical based media games.