Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

PS2 Fall Lineup

Old 07-16-02, 12:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PS2 Fall Lineup

Hello everyone. I just want to begin by declaring that even though I have been an avid reader of this forum for a few months this is my first time posting anything. It makes my work day move quicker and sometimes the threads even put a smile on my face. So, with that said, here we go....

The other night I had the chance to play the Ratchet and Clank demo. I don't know how big of a hit it was at E3 but it seems that Sony is pushing it at the moment as it will be released in the fall. My first impressions were that the graphics were good, the sound good (with some good voice acting - something that most companies are only now beginning to understand the value of), and the controls ok (weird camera manuevering that proved to be a bit annoying). Overall a decent experience although this is where I become concerned: What was it that separates this game from Jak and Daxter and countless others?

While I understand that originality is hard to come by and most games (even the best of them) suffer from this. What bothered me the most is that this issue is a concern expressed in most of the gaming publications: that the PS2's fall lineup suffers from any sort of innovation and the new crop of titles are too similar to what we experienced last year. It may be too early to judge these games but after playing Ratchet and Clank I understand that concern. Will The Getaway be any different from GTA3? Will Sly Thievious or Ratchet and Clank be any different from Jak and Daxter or Mario 64? Similarities can be good but too much of a good thing can be too much. I just hope that the library remains diverse and the clutter of the 16-bit days never recurs (too many shooters then too many fighters).