Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Help with Day of Defeat

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-02, 08:24 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with Day of Defeat

I just started playing this mod after getting pretty tired of Counterstrike. I'm having a difficult time though (my score is usually 2-15 when I'd go 20-10 in Counterstrike).

Even when I'm trying to be super sneaky someone caps me and most of the time I don't even know from where. It seems like a giant camp-fest for the entire map (playing on public servers).

The only time I manage to kill someone is when sniping or I get lucky and round a corner on a sniper looking somewhere else.

What are some good tips for staying alive and
Old 06-03-02, 09:35 AM
dek
DVD Talk Legend

Location: On the road to reclaiming Lord Stanleys Cup, Turlock CA
Re: Help with Day of Defeat

Originally posted by asabase

What are some good tips for staying alive and
Looks like someone sniped him again
Old 06-03-02, 11:01 AM

Major thing for Dod is to learn the maps. This way you can know where ambush spots are and watch for them or use them yourself.

You can't just run and gun your way through maps. I fiind it easier to move from cover to cover and ambush people that come by. Then you can move up again and ambush again. Keep doing this until you can get the flags and win the game.

Also, move as a group and watch where you buddies get hit from. Then you'll know where snipers, snakers and MGs are placed and can take them out.

Check www.dayofdefeatmod.com they have message boards where you'll find tons of posts with tactics and hints.
Old 06-03-02, 12:48 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Re: Re: Help with Day of Defeat

Originally posted by dek

Looks like someone sniped him again
Sorry, boss effect.

I think the only word missing was 'stuff' anyway.
Old 06-03-02, 12:49 PM