Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > TV Talk
Reload this Page >

Sorry Dave, you're just not funny anymore...

TV Talk Talk about Shows on TV

Old 06-16-05, 11:00 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Am I the only one to think that David Letterman has lost his hold on the funny?

I'm not an expert on how it works but I get the feeling Dave just shows up for the taping and doesn't give a crap about rehearsals...

He used to do funny sketches featuring himself; now all he does is (as of late) that stupid "Know your current events, know your cuts of meat (har har verry funny )

Last week he had a dentist in the green room doing a root canal on a guy... It may be "eccentric" but it just wasn't funny. Dave also spent 10 minutes doing a silly Slurpee taste contest at Rupert Jee's... It all just feels uninspired.

I guess now that he has a kid and had his heart troubles it puts things in perspective but his show shouldn't suffer for it.

I just don't believe Dave when he says to a movie star "I've seen your movie today and it was GREAT!"

I miss the Dave of old, doing stupid human/pet tricks, running around in a car full of tacos or working the drive through asking for potatoes

Oh well, there's always Conan
Old 06-16-05, 11:01 PM

Received 122 Likes on 84 Posts
Don't be a hater.

But seriously, his show has been like this for 20 years. You're just now noticing?
Old 06-16-05, 11:07 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Originally Posted by Groucho

But seriously, his show has been like this for 20 years. You're just now noticing?
The last 2 or 3 years have just been a letdown to me. He used to be the King of absurd humor, now it seems he just accepts what the writers give him and he just retires to his castle made of gold and doesn't give a crap.
Old 06-16-05, 11:12 PM

Dave > that Jesus asshole.
Old 06-17-05, 01:06 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post