Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

Buying DVDs at Walmart?

Community
Search
Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Buying DVDs at Walmart?

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-02, 08:10 AM
Suspended

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Buying DVDs at Walmart?

I'm new to the whole DVD scene, and thought I read something once that you should not buy DVDs at Walmart because they edit for explicit content? I know they do that on audio CDs, but can they or do they on DVDs? I know I could get better prices elsewhere, but I live in a small town and that is the only place that sells DVDs. Also if I ask for DVDs for Xmas, that's where my family would go to get them.....and if they are edited, I won't ask for any DVDs. So is it OK to buy DVDs at Walmart? Thanks.
Old 11-20-02, 09:06 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 82 Likes on 70 Posts
Hmmm...I haven't bought many there, and I don't think they're as concerned about DVD content as audio CD content [more hypocrisy: if you're going to censor, at least be consistent], but they can certainly decide what to carry or not carry. I know that Blockbuster used to request changes or 'altered versions' of some films, and they would get it because they had so much purchasing power. Not sure if they still do, or if WalMart has tried that yet, but i haven't noticed any differences with the few I've bought there.
The big thing to worry about with Walmart is having to hunt down the widescreen versions
Old 11-20-02, 09:45 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The DVDs you find at WalMart are the exact same ones that you would find anywhere else. They don't edit them.
Old 11-20-02, 10:14 AM
Suspended

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Ok, thanks guys.
Old 11-20-02, 12:06 PM

yep, as a FORMER employee of big Wally World (1 1/2 years, the 1/2 year I spent in Electronics) I should note that