Movie Talk A Discussion area for everything movie related including films In The Theaters

L.A. Critics Awards 2009

Old 12-13-09, 05:19 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,403
L.A. Critics Awards 2009

From Variety:

"The Hurt Locker" has taken top honors from the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn., with Kathryn Bigelow's Iraq War drama snaring honors as best picture and best director of 2009. The Summit Entertainment pickup first premiered at the 2008 Venice and Toronto film festivals.
Jeff Bridges won the actor nod for his turn as a washed-up country singer in Fox Searchlight's "Crazy Heart," which also took the laurels for music score.

Belgian actress Yolande Moreau drew the actress prize for her performance as artist Seraphine de Senlis in French biopic "Seraphine," a Music Box Films release.

Christoph Waltz received the supporting actor prize for the Weinstein Co.'s "Inglourious Basterds," and Mo'Nique won the supporting actress for the Weinstein Co.'s "Precious."

And the winners are:

PICTURE: "The Hurt Locker"
Runner-up: "Up in the Air"

DIRECTOR: Kathryn Bigelow, "The Hurt Locker"
Runner-up: Michael Haneke, "The White Ribbon"

ACTOR: Jeff Bridges, "Crazy Heart"
Runner-up: Colin Firth, "A Single Man"

ACTRESS: Yolande Moreau, "Séraphine"
Runner-up: Carey Mulligan, "An Education"

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Christoph Waltz, "Inglourious Basterds"
Runner-up: Peter Capaldi, "In the Loop"

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Mo'Nique, "Precious"
Runner-up: Anna Kendrick, "Up in the Air"

SCREENPLAY: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, "Up in the Air"
Runner-up: Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Tony Roche, "In the Loop"

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Christian Berger, "The White Ribbon"
Runner-up: Barry Ackroyd, "The Hurt Locker"

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Philip Ivey, "District 9"
Runner-up: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg, "Avatar"

BEST MUSIC SCORE: T-Bone Burnett and Stephen Bruton, "Crazy Heart"
Runner-up: Alexandre Desplat, "Fantastic Mr. Fox"

Runner-up: "The White Ribbon"

DOCUMENTARY/NON-FICTION FILM: "The Beaches of Agnès" and "The Cove" (tie)

ANIMATION: "Fantastic Mr. Fox"
Runner-up: "Up"


NEW GENERATION: Neill Blomkamp, "District 9"

Daytripper is offline  
Old 12-13-09, 05:34 PM
Banned by request
Supermallet's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Termite Terrace
Posts: 54,156
Re: L.A. Critics Awards 2009

For some reason I thought Jean-Paul Belmondo was dead.
Supermallet is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.