Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > HD Talk
Reload this Page >

What international/documentary filmmaker boxset are you most dying to see?

HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

Old 08-07-21, 03:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey all, longtime lurker (on my personal account), but first-time poster. I've been working in independent/arthouse distribution for 10 years now and I've been batting around the idea of starting a boutique U.S. home video label that's solely focused on filmmaker-driven documentary and non-English language cinema. The goal would be to realize gender parity among the slate of filmmakers and also make a concerted effort to spotlight non-Western/East Asian cultures. The physical media releases would solely be Blu-ray and/or 4K UHD (when possible).

The biggest thing I'm looking for right now is a bit of help from fellow home video enthusiasts. Here's my question:

If there were to be a boxset featuring work from an overlooked international filmmaker (at least by US audiences), whose work would you most be excited to see given the "boutique" treatment? Anything goes, as long as the filmmaker's films are predominately non-English language and/or documentaries.

Thanks so much for the help! And if people are interested, I'd be glad to continue picking your collective brains as other questions come up.
Old 08-08-21, 03:23 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 381 Likes on 323 Posts
Re: What international/documentary filmmaker boxset are you most dying to see?

The first one that springs to mind is French director Éric Rohmer. I know Criterion swooped up the Six Moral Tales, and a few others have gotten out on Blu-ray in North America, but some of his late-career movies seem to be MIA.
Old 08-08-21, 07:15 AM

Received 2,035 Likes on 1,404 Posts

Originally Posted by PhantomStranger View Post