Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > HD Talk
Reload this Page >

Blu-ray, Java, inability of resume, loss of compatibility with non HDMI A/V receivers

Community
Search
HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

Blu-ray, Java, inability of resume, loss of compatibility with non HDMI A/V receivers

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-11, 05:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Questions;
I have had zero experience with Blu-ray. I want to replace my older Oppo 970 with a new player so I figured Blu-ray would make the most sense. Considering the drop in cost. I have just discovered that some/many BD discs have Java embedded within the disc for what I consider unnecessary gimmicks. Doing so apparently prevents the traditional resume function to work on some/many players.
Why?

I have also discovered, apparently one needs to run out a buy a brand new A/V receiver with HDMI inputs for the full Dolby Digital or DTS audio to work. Using the conventional optical or coaxial out from a BD player to a non HDMI receiver only nets you with two channel stereo.
Is this correct?
Why isn't the 5.1 available through those conventional outs as it is on a SD DVD player??
Old 12-20-11, 05:15 PM

Re: Blu-ray, Java, inability of resume, loss of compatibility with non HDMI A/V recei

The next question;
Will burning a backup copy of a BD movie solve any of this other than getting rid of the extra crap (DVD style)?
Old 12-20-11, 05:25 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 309 Likes on 231 Posts
Re: Blu-ray, Java, inability of resume, loss of compatibility with non HDMI A/V recei

It does suck to not have the resume feature but I just take a quick look at where I'm at in the film before I turn it off. Yes, it is a bit of a drawback to not have resume but in my opinion it is not worth going out of your way by burning extra copies or what not for that minor inconvenience.