Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > HD Talk
Reload this Page >

To Play This BD, You Must Renew...

HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

Old 12-05-09, 08:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

O.K. I bought Angels and Demons on Blu. Pop in in my PS3 and get:

To play this BD, You must Renew the encryption key

Just lovely!

From what I can figure out as a layman I have to hook up my PS3 to the internet and upgrade the PS3 software as Angels and Demons was authored, or whatever the terminology is, is a newer software.

Can I do this with just a USB port? Or is this more complicated?

Can't find the manual that came with the PS3 so need to figure this out as I gather more movies are going to give me this same grief.

Do all blu-ray players require this "regular" updating?

What does your average person do that doesn't have internet, or does but has no way to figure out what's going on to do? There have to be thousands of people like that. And they want blu to become the standard?

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

James
Old 12-05-09, 09:21 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 42 Likes on 24 Posts
Re: To Play This BD, You Must Renew...

Have you considered checking Sony's PS3 website?

http://www.us.playstation.com/Suppor...pc_update.html

Old 12-05-09, 10:53 AM
Jim
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Yes, you can do the update via a USB flash drive. Download the update and put it on the flash drive. It needs to be in a specific folder on the drive, something like PS3\Update. The Sony site should mention that so look for it. It's very easy to do via USB - I've done it many times. And, yes, virtually all players seem to require an update at some point.
Old 12-05-09, 11:03 AM

Thanks!

Yeah, Flash Drive it is. Just have to get one. There are some that are $10.00 to $15.00 so that's not bad. Will check out which ones are recommended.

James
Old 12-05-09, 11:29 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition