Community
Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Real to Fake Widescreen questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-05, 11:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Real to Fake Widescreen questions

Hi, I have been buying DVD's for a few years now, just recentlly a few friends have been bringing up the issue of "fake" widescreen and true widescreen format. I don't have a widescreen TV yet, but plan on buying one this summer.
So what are the problems with movies presented in "fake" widescreen?
I did some searching around on the internet, but could only find people discussing if a movie was or wasn't in true widescreen, not what the actual disadvantages were. I know some of the mvoies in my collection are not true widescreen, are these movies basically junk if I buy my new TV?
If this topic has already been discussed, or if this is the wrong board, I apologize.
Old 02-06-05, 11:34 AM

Received 122 Likes on 84 Posts
Are you talking about anamorphic vs. non-anamorphic? Or misframed movies?
Old 02-06-05, 11:36 AM

Well the issue they were talking about was more Full Frame movies with the black bars dropped on them.
Old 02-06-05, 11:45 AM

Received 122 Likes on 84 Posts
Originally Posted by CS2005
Well the issue they were talking about was more Full Frame movies with the black bars dropped on them.
Hmm...I can't really think of any examples of that.
Old 02-06-05, 11:55 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Not sure if these two links will help but they are a good read.

http://www.thedigitalbits.com/articl...ic185demo.html
http://www.thedigitalbits.com/articl...ic235demo.html
Old 02-06-05, 12:00 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
A few TV Shows Like season 1 of Kung Fu and Stephen King's IT would probably fit the description of fake widescreen as they where filmed with a 1.33 aspect ratio in mind, but where cropped down to 1.78 for their dvd releases.