Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Archives > Archives > DVD Talk Archive
Reload this Page >

Special features and 5.1 versus DTS...what to do?

Community
Search

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-03, 07:00 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I won't drag this out, because I don't know that much about it. But, I have been buying dvds for 3 years w/o having a home theater system and I have always gone for the special features and 5.1 over the DTS only DVDs.

Examples like Jurassic Park, Out of Sight, Liar Liar, Apollo 13 and Saving Private Ryan come to mind.

Now, having gotten a middle of the road home theater system, should I reconsider this and replace these titles? How do you really make this type of decision?

I've only listened to a few DVDs for far, but 5.1 sounds pretty good to me for home. Do you need to be an audiophile to really notice a big difference, especially if it's not a high end system? Or is DTS simply the only way to go, no matter how much you lose if you can't get the special features?

I don't know what to do about this. For example, certainly the Jurassic Park DTS is better, but how much and would the average viewer notice? I have nieces and nephews who also watch movies like that and they love the extra dinosaur features on my 5.1 disc. And friends who come over love seeing gag reels and all of that stuff, so the replay value of special features seems to help.

But DTS is DTS. What should I do or is it really not that big of a deal? Thanks.
Old 05-28-03, 07:50 PM

My opinion...

keep what you have...and now on, look for DTS for your next purchases!...

Me too I just listen to my DVD with plain stereo, but I watched carefuly to get DTS's versions when available because a few of my friends has Denon's and Yamaha's HT and I have heard the difference between DD and DTS...(even if they have Bose Acoustimass...)

But I will soon kick their arses with my Rotel RSX-1055 and Energy C-6, C-2 and AV-300!!

Now THEY will see the difference!