Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

Review Wanted: "Harold And Maude"

DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

Review Wanted: "Harold And Maude"

Old 06-26-00, 09:24 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I know that the official release date is tomorrow, but those who pre-ordered it may already have it by now. I've already seen the film, I'm just looking for a review of the transfer and extras (if any).

Thanks....

jim

------------------
http://www.dvdtracker.com/~gamblor187.asp
Old 06-26-00, 10:25 PM

Just recieved it. Only extras are two trailors. Pretty cool, for trailors. Nothing else, really. Widescreen, subtitles, 5.1 suround, french mono, scene selection...standard. Sound is good, though. If you want to blast Cat Stevens... Transfer seems good, but I'm no expert. Hope this layman has helped.
Old 06-26-00, 11:48 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Thanks W-Mans. I'll probably pick this up tomorrow....if the B&Ms are carrying it, that is.

jim
Old 06-27-00, 01:09 PM

The transfer is uneven in some places. There is some shifting in the background in the first cemetery scene. Also, in the 2nd trailer you will see Harold kissing Maude but this scene is not anywhere in the film itself. Does anyone know if this scene is in the VHS or Laser or was it originally cut from the film itself at release? Was this scene too much for seventies audience?
Old 06-27-00, 03:52 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Harold and Maude is one of my favorites and I loved the first trailer on the DVD (2nd was more traditional). I noticed 2 really striking things:

1. In the second trailer (I think), in a shot of Harold and Maude sitting on the pier at sunset, on the right the words "F*CK WAR" are spelled out in large pieces of wood and subsequently pulled apart by people. This was NOT in the movie but definitely fits the mood of the country at the time (71, I believe).