Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

HT setup

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-01, 06:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I just bought a new sub and surround sound and I was wondering if there is a site or suggestions on how to get the thing set up.(ie. placement and all the controls that go along with the receiver. I am new to these things so go easy. Thanks. My room is pretty big(18x20). I have heard about the avia disc but I can't afford it right now so I am just looking for some quick fixes until then. Thanks

Old 02-22-01, 08:09 PM

Hi jhiter,

First of all, congrats on your new system. It is definitely exciting when you get new toys like these! If you'd rather not spend the cash for Avia (I don't know if they offer these for rental - the last time I rented a DVD or went in a Blockbuster was in 1998), then many newer DVDs include THX setup menus that allow you to tweak your system to some extent. I've used them at a friend's house since he didn't have Avia or Essentials either, and it worked in a pinch. And, yes, you DO need to lower your brightness that much!!!

Off the top of my head, both Fight Club and Terminator 2:Ultimate Edition have these setup menus. And either would be an EXCELLENT choice for a DVD purchase (I, of course, would recommend buying both...) I'm sure there are several others, but I'm too lazy to go through my collection. Anyone else know of any?

Hope that helps...
Old 02-23-01, 05:33 PM