Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

How do I get sound out of a DTS dvd disc?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

How do I get sound out of a DTS dvd disc?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-00, 11:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm a newbie here. I have a Panasonic A310 dvd player with DD/DTS decoder built in. Question is when I play a DTS disc do I need a separate DTS decoder to get sound or just a receiver with DTS decoder built in? Can someone explain the proper setup for DTS since currently I'm looking into buying new receiver and speakers?

Old 12-21-00, 12:05 PM
Cool New Member

You could save yourself some money buy finding a DD/DTS "compatible" receiver that has DD/DTS analog inputs. Or, since you want to enjoy everything that is currently available, such as DTS-ES(7.1 channel audio), you could find a receiver with it's own decoders,(which are arguably better at handling the audio).

------------------
"...want to see something really scary?"
Old 12-21-00, 12:06 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Since your player will output DTS through its 5.1 analog outputs, all you need is a "5.1 ready" receiver. This is a receiver with 5.1 analog inputs on the back. You'd hook up (6) cables between the 5.1 output on your dvd player and the 5.1 input on your receiver.

You also could get a "DD/DTS-decoding" receiver, in which case you'd simply go from the (single) digital output on your dvd player to a digital input on your receiver. This solution will be more flexible (you'll be able to add more DD/DTS equipment in the future and bass management will be better), and will probably sound better (the decoder in most DD/DTS receivers is better than the decoder in most players that have one), but will cost a bit more.