Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

features to be aware of for dvd players?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

features to be aware of for dvd players?

Old 09-09-99, 03:41 AM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
im new to dvd and currently watching my growing collection on my computer, i am interested in purchasing a player but am not sure what features are important to look for, are there important features that i will not get by buying a bargain basement player, slow motion and not having to flip the disc half way through the movie is important to me, could someone help point me in the right direction, i would really appreciate it!
Old 09-09-99, 05:21 AM
Uber Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
jst315,

Whether you have to flip the disc over or not is a function of the DVD. There are a few titles that are "flippers" (like Goodfellas), but most DVD titles manage to keep the movie all on one side of the disc or span multiple discs.

As a result, currently, I don't believe there are any players that will play both sides of a DVD without you physically flipping the DVD over to read the other side.

Features to look for:

Video out: all will come with composite (single yellow color coded rca cable from the player to the TV/receiver). You should at least get one with S-Video and component if possible (though I've heard conflicting reports on the suppossed better image quality of component video).