DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

LCD Burn in?

Old 05-02-05, 08:24 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LCD Burn in?

Hey all,

I know that LCD TVs are not prone to burn in like CRTs and Plasmas are, but is there ANY risk of burn in at all? I am particularly asking about a larger, 46 inch LCD. That is, if I leave the contrast on high, and leave a video game pause for 2 days (with a bright white "PAUSE" in the middle of the screen), will there be any resulting damage? And also, is a smaller (20 inch) LCD considered "direct view" and a larger (46 inch) LCD TV considered an RP TV? -- or are they all considered direct view when they are LCD? if that makes sense..... ?

Thanks,

Matt
Old 05-02-05, 08:33 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 242 Likes on 177 Posts
I don't think LCD has any chance of burn-in,although i am no expert on the subject.
If you would have to leave a game paused for 2 days for whatever reason,i would hope you would just turn the tv off.
Old 05-02-05, 12:15 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

LCD panels do not burn in. Why would you leave your TV on for 2 days anyway?

Texas Instruments did a test to prove their DLP tech is better than LCD. They ran a dozen or more projectors for months without shutting them off. Some of the LCDs began having damage after 2 months (about 1390 hours), most made it 3 or more. The DLPs did not suffer similar damage. If they had run these projectors with standard HT usage parameters, in a cooler room and for no more than 10 hours a day (that's pretty generous, I think), the damage would not have occured with an equal number of hours.

Oh, and the damage was a yellowing of the panel, not burn in of specific images like CRT technologies can do. I think it was the blue panel fading or something that caused the yellowing.