Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

looking for some advice on a reciever/speakers

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-02, 11:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am really new to surround sound, but I am considering buying a receiver and speakers for my HT. I've read a bunch of posts here, and have some general ideas, but I want to get some advice from you guys. In my case, cost is very important (so I'm looking for something fairly low end). I'm considering the following:

Speakers:
JBL SCS135

These look pretty decent, and come in at about $270. If anyone has any other reccomendations, I'd be glad to hear them.

Receiver:
I'm really torn here, but here is what I'm looking at:

H/K AVR5
comes in at about $140 at HarmonAudio, but doesn't do DTS or pro logic (I think) . . . how important is that, also, don't know if it has S-Video inputs.

Aiwa AV-D58
Costs about $160 at local best buy, does Pro Logic and DTS don't know if it has S-Video inputs

Onkyo 494
Kind of pushing the limits of my budget, but does Pro Logic II, DTS, and you guys really praise it I know I need to put the most of my budget into speakers, so would it be a waste to get this receiver with the JBL speakers?

Just in case it matters, I have a pioneer DV343 DVD player, and my TV is a Hitachi 50", and a generic VCR (not used very often).

Anyway, what do you think? I'm not an audiophile, but I hate to get junk. Any comments on the above, or reccommendations otherwise are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

-Naeb
Old 01-06-02, 12:26 AM

How much is "pushing the budget" for your receiver? For $290 you can pick up last years Marantz SR5000 .

Have you taken a gander at the Hometheaterdirect Level one speakers? Might be another brand to consider.

HTD Level1 5.1 set for $149

Last edited by Jin E; 01-06-02 at 12:31 AM.
Old 01-06-02, 01:35 AM
Gomez