Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Book Talk
Reload this Page >

What Are You Reading? 2022

Book Talk A Place To Discuss Books and Audiobooks

What Are You Reading? 2022

Old 09-24-22, 01:02 PM
  #351  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,518
Likes: 0
Received 67 Likes on 57 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished:



Really enjoyed this, and King continues to put out some great stories in his later years. As someone who owns a senior dog, this one really pulls at the heartstrings. I would say I enjoy the first half of the book more than the 2nd half, but that is because I love when King is writing coming of age more than I enjoy reading fantasy, but there is plenty to enjoy.
thematahara is online now  
Old 09-24-22, 07:17 PM
  #352  
DVD Talk Reviewer/Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Kurt D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Formerly known as L. Ron zyzzle - On a cloud of Judgement
Posts: 14,779
Received 1,966 Likes on 1,308 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished The Throat. Feeling really cynical so ordered The Brave by Gregory McDonald, but hasn't arrived yet so killing time with an Ann Rule Crime Files book ...
Kurt D is online now  
Old 09-26-22, 10:17 AM
  #353  
DVD Talk Reviewer
 
Pointyskull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Formerly known as "12thmonkey"/Frankfort, IL
Posts: 7,790
Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Just finished:



Just started:
Pointyskull is offline  
Old 09-26-22, 09:34 PM
  #354  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,917
Received 188 Likes on 130 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished:

All's Well by Mona Awad. I really liked her book Bunnies ... a weird dark fantasy/horror with an academic setting. This is the same vein. I don't think I liked this one as much ... the sad sack main character was a tough one to spend lots of time with. But I did like the twist on the "Faustian bargain" story. And I know it wasn't to everyone's taste, but I liked how surrealistic things got as the novel progressed.
brainee is online now  
Old 09-27-22, 10:08 AM
  #355  
Moderator
 
Geofferson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: The Village Green
Posts: 39,794
Received 112 Likes on 91 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022


Geofferson is offline  
Old 09-29-22, 07:03 AM
  #356  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,518
Likes: 0
Received 67 Likes on 57 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished

thematahara is online now  
Old 09-29-22, 04:40 PM
  #357  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Nick Danger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 30,812
Received 1,529 Likes on 969 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

The Dark Street
Dark Duet

Both by Peter Cheyney. He wrote a bunch of bestselling espionage thrillers in 1940s Britain that are forgotten today. His espionage books all have the word "dark" in the title. These two books were entertaining. I'm going to read some more.
Nick Danger is offline  
Old 10-04-22, 02:29 PM
  #358  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,518
Likes: 0
Received 67 Likes on 57 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished:

thematahara is online now  
Old 10-04-22, 02:32 PM
  #359  
DVD Talk Reviewer
 
Pointyskull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Formerly known as "12thmonkey"/Frankfort, IL
Posts: 7,790
Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Just started:

Pointyskull is offline  
Old 10-04-22, 04:39 PM
  #360  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,917
Received 188 Likes on 130 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

With the passing of Peter Straub, I was motivated to read (for the first time) his first two horror novels.

Julia. Is it a rule that every horror paperback from the 70s had to be compared to either The Exorcist or Rosemary's Baby in the blurbs? It seems like it (and this one, like many of them, did them both). I'm not a fan of reading the book after I saw the movie, which was the case here. It's worse when the movie was fairly faithful to the book, which took away a lot of the suspense and mystery for me. Not bad, although it didn't really feel like a Peter Straub book. Maybe more like someone doing their mash-up of Rosemary's Baby and a classic British gothic suspense story. Which sounds like it was the case for this. From what I understand, Straub switched to the horror genre at the advice of his agent to pick up his career (which his first two novels really didn't do anything for).

If You Could See Me Now. This, on the other hand, feels like Peter Straub finding his style and literary voice. With the Midwestern setting, a male protagonist that seems a lot more like something Straub would know (a 30-something American writer/academic), and a general theme that Ghost Story seems to have built on ... the death of a mysterious woman in the past coming back to haunt the present.
brainee is online now  
The following users liked this post:
Kurt D (10-05-22)
Old 10-05-22, 10:12 PM
  #361  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Bronkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AnaheimLand, SoCal
Posts: 22,849
Received 643 Likes on 372 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022



I've had this book forever (online image; mine doesn't have the dustcover) since it was my dad's from WWII. Flipped through it a few times over the years and read a number of the cartoons. But I never had any real interest in it. So I decided that since I had it, I should give it a read. Amusing, horrifying, and a real lesson in what the "dogfaces" of the infantry had to go through. The cartoons make a lot more sense with the text that explains what's going on. Glad I finally got around to it!
Bronkster is offline  
Old 10-06-22, 01:39 PM
  #362  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Nick Danger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 30,812
Received 1,529 Likes on 969 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Charles Schulz did a tribute to Bill Mauldin every year. But I've never seen more than one Bill Mauldin cartoon at a time and I haven't learned why he's special.


Nick Danger is offline  
Old 10-08-22, 09:54 AM
  #363  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Nick Danger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 30,812
Received 1,529 Likes on 969 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Two more Peter Cheyney espionage novels: The Stars are Dark and Dark Wanton. Neither was as good as the first two I read. I'm getting a little tired of the device of withholding a critical piece of information from the reader.













Nick Danger is offline  
Old 10-14-22, 05:28 PM
  #364  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,917
Received 188 Likes on 130 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished:

Pressure by Brian Keene. This was a weird book. Not weird like Naked Lunch weird ... weird in the way it was written and structured. First half was a sea monster story, which is what I thought it would be. But in the second half, it turns into a corporate espionage thriller (and bails on the monster sci-fi/horror elements almost completely). I really thought (and was hoping) the two stories would come back together in a satisfying way, but they never did.

About 200 pages into Stephen King's Fairy Tale. The setup seems an awfully lot like that for Mr. Harrigan's Phone (though I know it goes in a different direction).
brainee is online now  
Old 10-14-22, 07:08 PM
  #365  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,518
Likes: 0
Received 67 Likes on 57 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished:


thematahara is online now  
Old 10-15-22, 12:37 PM
  #366  
DVD Talk Reviewer
 
Pointyskull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Formerly known as "12thmonkey"/Frankfort, IL
Posts: 7,790
Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Just started:
Pointyskull is offline  
Old 10-17-22, 11:47 AM
  #367  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: a mile high, give or take a few feet
Posts: 14,878
Received 228 Likes on 184 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Reading the Harry Potter franchise through for the first time. Started on the 4th book last night, Goblet of Fire.
mndtrp is offline  
Old 10-20-22, 08:47 PM
  #368  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,518
Likes: 0
Received 67 Likes on 57 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished:

These books are just a joy to read. If you havent checked them out, I highly recommend them.
thematahara is online now  
Old 10-20-22, 10:50 PM
  #369  
DVD Talk Reviewer/Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Kurt D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Formerly known as L. Ron zyzzle - On a cloud of Judgement
Posts: 14,779
Received 1,966 Likes on 1,308 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022


Kurt D is online now  
Old 10-23-22, 10:19 AM
  #370  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,518
Likes: 0
Received 67 Likes on 57 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished:

thematahara is online now  
Old 10-24-22, 12:01 PM
  #371  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,917
Received 188 Likes on 130 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Originally Posted by Pointyskull
Finished Fairy Tale by Stephen King. How wonderful to have not just a new Stephen King book, but a big 600+ pager coming-of-age fantasy in the vein of The Talisman and The Dark Tower. And it felt like it could've been even longer, especially in the "fantasy" second half which seemed to rush things along compared to the leisurely pacing of the first half.
brainee is online now  
The following users liked this post:
Pointyskull (10-24-22)
Old 10-24-22, 04:53 PM
  #372  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,518
Likes: 0
Received 67 Likes on 57 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished:

thematahara is online now  
Old 10-26-22, 10:07 AM
  #373  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Nick Danger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 30,812
Received 1,529 Likes on 969 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Peter Cheney - Dark Bahama and Dark Interlude

I'm done with Cheney. The clunky writing has overwhelmed the entertainment value of the stories.

A lot of it reads like first draft writing. In Dark Bahama, he refers to the Miami State Police. Five minutes with the almanac would have told him that the state is Florida.







Nick Danger is offline  
Old 10-26-22, 08:32 PM
  #374  
kd5
DVD Talk Legend
 
kd5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 13,016
Received 384 Likes on 256 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022

Finished Hollow City, the 3rd book of the original Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children trilogy, started reading the first book in the The Inheritance Cycle: Eragon.



kd5 is offline  
Old 10-27-22, 02:19 PM
  #375  
Moderator
 
Geofferson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: The Village Green
Posts: 39,794
Received 112 Likes on 91 Posts
Re: What Are You Reading? 2022


Geofferson is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.