Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Old 06-11-16, 11:07 AM
  #1  
DVD Talk Godfather
Thread Starter
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 55,343
E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Since no one created a thread yet and everything kicks off tomorrow...

Conference schedule, ripped from PC Gamer since their formatting was nice and clean.

http://www.pcgamer.com/how-to-watch-...ss-conference/

Sunday

EA Play
1PM Pacific / 4PM Eastern / 21:00 BST / 06:00 AEST (Monday)

Watch it: http://www.ea.com/play2016

We should see some Mass Effect Andromeda and Titanfall 2 gameplay at EA's show this year, and we expect something Star Wars related, though it may just be a tease for a far off game.

Bethesda
7PM Pacific / 10PM Eastern / 03:00 BST / 12:00 AEST (Monday)

Watch it: Bethesda on Twitch (may change if Bethesda streams elsewhere)

Expect to see Dishonored 2, of course. The rest is speculation and rumor, but we're betting on Prey 2, a remastered Skyrim, and maybe Quake.

Monday

Microsoft
9:30AM Pacific / 12:30PM Eastern / 17:30 BST / 02:30 AEST (Tuesday)

Watch it: http://www.xbox.com/e3

Aside from all the Xbox stuff, we can expect to see more of Rare's exciting pirate game, Sea of Thieves, as well as ReCore. Hopefully there's a decent focus on the PC this year, with the caveat that any announcements are likely to be Windows 10 Store exclusives. Microsoft is showing up at the PC Gaming Show, too, which brings us to...

PC Gaming Show
11:30AM Pacific / 2:30PM Eastern / 19:30 BST / 04:30 ACST (Tuesday)

Watch it: Twitch / YouTube

It's our show! Last year we decided it was high time the PC as a platform had a bigger presence during E3 week, so we worked with AMD to put on a show, and this year we've done it again. Expect a bunch of guests from all around PC gaming, and a few surprises. Here's more about the lineup and timing—and tune in early for what should be an exciting contest, too.

Ubisoft
1PM Pacific / 4PM Eastern / 21:00 BST / 06:00 AEST (Tuesday)

Watch it: https://www.ubisoft.com/e3-2016

Ubisoft should be showing us more Watch Dogs 2, For Honor, Ghost Recon: Wildlands, and South Park. Beyond that, we're not sure—there's no new Assassin's Creed this year, but we might see more of the movie, and probably a new game.

Sony
6PM Pacific / 9PM Eastern / 02:00 BST / 11:00 AEST (Tuesday)

Watch it: http://live.playstation.com/

Kojima could make an appearance here, but we doubt his new studio has much to show yet. No Man's Sky might show up, but it was only just delayed to August, so it's right around the corner anyway. Expect some PlayStation exclusives, of course, but there could be some PC relevant surprises. We're hoping Rockstar comes by with something big to announce.

Tuesday

Square Enix
11:45AM Pacific / 2:45PM Eastern / 19:45 BST / 04:45 AEST (Wednesday)

Watch it: YouTube | Twitch

Starting Tuesday, Square Enix will be livestreaming tons of stuff all the way through to Thursday. They've published a lineup, which includes the expected smattering of Deus Ex, Hitman, and Final Fantasy stuff. Square Enix will also be dropping by The PC Gaming show.

A lot of companies aren't doing a big conference this year like Nintendo or Activision, but it should still be interesting to see what Microsoft and Sony do.

I have a pass, but probably won't go this year as Tuesday is the only day I have free and I don't think I want to drive to LA then.
fumanstan is offline  
Old 06-11-16, 11:32 AM
  #2  
DVD Talk Godfather
 
Michael Corvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 56,826
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Preview of Nintendo's booth:
Spoiler:
Michael Corvin is online now  
Old 06-11-16, 11:38 AM
  #3  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11,463
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

I'm not really excited for much this year as compared to last years. I don't think that'll be topped for a long time.

I do hope Kojima shows off something even if it's just a teaser.

I hope we get to see more Kingdom Hearts 3 and Final Fantasy 15 footage.

I hope the whole Skyrim next gen rumors stay as rumors and instead we get an announcement of ES 6. I doubt it'll be out this year but it would be nice to see a teaser trailer.
mhg83 is offline  
Old 06-11-16, 01:06 PM
  #4  
DVD Talk God
 
Deftones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona
Posts: 74,302
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Damn it. Wanted to watch the MS one but it is when i am at work.
Deftones is online now  
Old 06-12-16, 08:47 AM
  #5  
DVD Talk Godfather
Thread Starter
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 55,343
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Rumor of a new Quake game... hope it's true and gets announced.

https://twitter.com/nerd_leaks/statu...42626925092864
fumanstan is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 11:37 AM
  #6  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Sonny Corinthos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Charles, NY.
Posts: 5,079
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Spike TV will air the Microsoft press conference tomorrow from 12:30 pm to 2:00pm est. After that, All Access at E3 from 2pm to 3pm est.


http://www.spike.com/tv-schedule
Sonny Corinthos is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 02:37 PM
  #7  
DVD Talk Godfather
Thread Starter
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 55,343
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

fumanstan is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 02:43 PM
  #8  
DVD Talk God
 
Deftones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona
Posts: 74,302
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Will it play 4k Blu ray is the question.

Oh that is just the slim, not the updated version.
Deftones is online now  
Old 06-12-16, 02:52 PM
  #9  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
cruzness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Home of the UF Gators and Nat'l Championships, Gainesville, FL
Posts: 7,864
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Originally Posted by fumanstan View Post
Hmmm. That is sexy looking.
cruzness is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 03:08 PM
  #10  
MrX
DVD Talk Legend
 
MrX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 24,757
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

EA presentation is starting now
MrX is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 03:46 PM
  #11  
DVD Talk Godfather
Thread Starter
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 55,343
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

fumanstan is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 03:50 PM
  #12  
DVD Talk Godfather
Thread Starter
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 55,343
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

And here's another shot of the XBox One S from GAF.

fumanstan is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 04:08 PM
  #13  
MrX
DVD Talk Legend
 
MrX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 24,757
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Other than Battlefield 1, not much to get excited about from EA for me. I played Titanfall and don't have much interest in a sequel,

Disappointed to not see more of ME: Andromeda.
MrX is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 04:21 PM
  #14  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Maxflier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 11,624
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Nothing on NHL? Or did I miss it?
Maxflier is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 04:23 PM
  #15  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
chase3001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,672
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

No mention of NHL. They only talked Madden and FIFA for sports games.
chase3001 is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 04:25 PM
  #16  
DVD Talk Godfather
Thread Starter
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 55,343
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Yeah, nothing really interesting out of EA to me either. Only thing might have been the Titanfall single player, but since it leaked it took the steam out of it for me.
fumanstan is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 04:29 PM
  #17  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Obey The D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 8,617
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Originally Posted by chase3001 View Post
No mention of NHL. They only talked Madden and FIFA for sports games.
EA doesn't care about Canadian people.
Obey The D is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 04:37 PM
  #18  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
chase3001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,672
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

chase3001 is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 04:40 PM
  #19  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Obey The D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 8,617
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Obey The D is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 05:13 PM
  #20  
DVD Talk Gold Edition
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,394
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Much as I like the Mass Effect games, I wish that Bioware would be able to do something else. This also really kills my dream for a Jade Empire sequel.
robin2099 is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 05:55 PM
  #21  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11,463
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

E3 2016 Fanfest- Phil Spencer:"Monday will be one of the most special events in Xbox history, comparable to Zero Hour 360 launch in terms of importance"

Might be just hyping it up but some are speculating MS announces partnership with a VR company (Occulus or Vive?) and that the headset will work on Xbox One. Maybe Skyrim Port will be compatible with VR?
mhg83 is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 06:57 PM
  #22  
DVD Talk God
 
Deftones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona
Posts: 74,302
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

is mass effect this year or next? i forget. looks good for what little we saw it.
Deftones is online now  
Old 06-12-16, 07:18 PM
  #23  
MrX
DVD Talk Legend
 
MrX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 24,757
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Was supposed to be out around the holidays but was pushed back to 2017.
MrX is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 07:26 PM
  #24  
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,306
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

So...the slim will be $449?
EinCB is offline  
Old 06-12-16, 07:43 PM
  #25  
DVD Talk Reviewer/ Admin
 
Adam Tyner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Greenville, South Cackalack
Posts: 20,985
Re: E3 2016 Discussion Thread

Originally Posted by EinCB View Post
So...the slim will be $449?
I can't fathom that it would.
Adam Tyner is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.