Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Video Game Talk
Reload this Page >

Saints Row VS Grand Theft Auto

Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games
View Poll Results: What series do you like the most?
Grand Theft Auto
63.83%
Saints Row
36.17%
Voters: 47. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-13, 05:28 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 75 Likes on 64 Posts

I used to be a big fan of the GTA series (San Andreas is still my favorite) But this gen they made the series too serious and realistic leaving behind a lot of the fun stuff in last gens GTA's had that made them so great.

I started playing Saints Row 2 and it has everything that made GTA fun and some new stuff that for the most part works. The missions are crazy and over the top and the side missions are varied enough to keep from being repetitive. I love the mayhem and Insurance Fraud side activities. I've heard great things about SR3 so I can't wait to get into that after I'm done with SR2. Also have SR4 pre-ordered. I can't wait to see what they do with the franchise next.
Old 08-04-13, 06:05 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 82 Likes on 70 Posts
Re: Saints Row VS Grand Theft Auto

I enjoyed a few of the GTAs I played, but I agree that they got too serious and realistic and just 'dark'. I liked some of the storylines, but SR2 and SR3 were just a whole lot more fun for me.
Old 08-04-13, 06:15 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

I also used to be into the GTA games (Vice City was my favorite), but I really did not like IV at all. I switched over to the Saints Row and loved the first two because they were fun to play and had a sense of humor to them that I enjoyed. That being said I own SR 3, but haven't played it yet so I'm not in a hurry to grab SR 4.