Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Unreal 3 on Laptop?

Old 03-21-08, 07:48 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 119 Likes on 107 Posts
Unreal 3 on Laptop?

Hello

Wasn't sure to post this here or over at the Tech forum but here it goes. I got a Dell Vostro laptop to use mainly for my astronomy. But it doesn't have the bottom video card that's in most business laptops. Here is what I have:

Intel Duo Core T5470 1.60Ghz
1 Gig of ram
XP Home
Video Card - Nvidia GeForce 8400M GS

I use to keep up with all the cards for towers back in the days of Unreal Tournament but haven't since and know nothing about the video cards for laptops. Being a UT junkie can my laptop run UT3 even at medium to low settings? I'll still get the 360 version but the pc version has so much more.

Kenny J
Old 03-21-08, 08:15 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm not an expert on laptop components, but that laptop will probably play on low settings at best. Medium settings would probably cause your framerate to go too low.

The Geforce 8xxx series are the first DX10 cards. Laptop cards are generally lower end compared to desktop cards, so I am guessing that a laptop 8xxx is probably more along the lines of a desktop 7xxx card just with a few DX10 features added.

One thing that will hold your laptop back is the 1 GB RAM. This generation is requiring 2 GB minimum if you don't want eternally long load times. Every PC game I have played in the last year or so has extremely long load times on 1 GB PCs. I tried playing the Witcher on 1 GB and the load times ranged from 1 minute all the way up to almost 3 minutes.... I got fed up with it pretty quickly.

All in all I would guesstimate that laptop will probably play on low settings decently, maybe medium with some slowdown/framerate problems, but the long load times will be the major kicker.

Last edited by taffer; 03-21-08 at 08:17 PM.
Old 03-21-08, 09:28 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 137 Likes on 106 Posts