Best version of LINUX for a PC with...

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 01-31-20, 10:07 PM
kd5
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

a 2.53 ghz P4, 1gb of PC2700, 80gb hard drive, NVidia GeForce4 MX 4000, for testing purposes.

I'm looking for a version of Linux that most closely resembles Windows, insomuchas you don't need to futz with editing code, no command line stuff, a person can just turn on their computer and get online or run a simple office program, do basic stuff without having to rewrite shit.

Linux for dummies in other words. Something I can download onto a CD/DVD, boot the computer to, and install without a whole lot of muss or fuss.

Preferably something dependable that will deliver a decent experience for a long period of time. I have no experience with Linux so I would very much appreciate if you would go easy on me.

Thank you!
Old 01-31-20, 10:19 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Re: Best version of LINUX for a PC with...

I haven't used Linux much, but the most user-friendly distro I've read of is Linux Mint. It's based on Ubuntu, a very popular Linux distro that's fairly user friendly itself, but just adds a bit more user friendliness.

Take this review:
https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2019...mall-upgrades/
When I watch a Linux tutorial or screen cast on YouTube, odds are I'll see the Linux Mint logo in the toolbar. When I see someone using Linux at the coffee shop, it usually turns out to be Linux Mint. When I ask fellow Linux users which distro they use, the main answers are Ubuntu... and Linux Mint. All of that is anecdotal, but it still points to a simple truth. For a distro that has seen little press lately, Linux Mint manages to remain popular with users.