Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Recovery Disc/Windows Vista problem - need help!

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 09-01-11, 09:41 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

I have an Acer Aspire 5517 laptop I purchased two years ago. To make a long story short the hard drive in this machine crapped out on my about. I took the computer into a technician who said it was fried. I purchased a new HD and replaced it myself (I have some experience fiddling with computers, but had no way to test the HD hence I took it in).

So... I was going to reinstall everything by way of the recovery discs, which I would assume would be an option since the system BIOS should still allow this. But the recovery DVDs I burned when I first purchased the laptop became heavily scratched somehow during the past two years (really have no clue how, they were in a CD case). The DVDs are apparently unreadable.

I figure I have two options. First, get new recovery discs. I'm trying to do so from Acer, but no luck so far. Does anyone have any ideas how I could find replacement discs?

Second option will be to buy a full version of Windows Vista. My question for tihs option is I have no clue whether I need the 32-bit version or 64-bit. Honestly, I've never done this before so I just GUESSING that the Windows DVD will be bootable.

Third option is to return the new HD and replace it to make sure that the first one I bought last night isn't defective, but that seems unlikely to me.

Thoughts? Any help would be greatly apprecaited.
Old 09-01-11, 11:39 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Re: Recovery Disc/Windows Vista problem - need help!