DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   Tech Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/tech-talk-10/)
-   -   WPA encryption prevents laptop from acquiring network address....all of the sudden... (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/tech-talk/568351-wpa-encryption-prevents-laptop-acquiring-network-address-all-sudden.html)

KillerQ 01-22-10 09:40 AM

WPA encryption prevents laptop from acquiring network address....all of the sudden...

Hey all,

I have an HP Laptop (Win XP SP3) that I am using with a wireless G Belkin Router (model F5D7230-1 v. 6002) with MAC address filtering and WPA-TSK key encryption (firmware is updated)a.

I have been using this setup for well over two years, and all of the sudden, I noticed that my laptop would sit at the "trying to acquire network address" when trying to connect to the internet/router.

When I reset the router to factory settings and apply MAC address filtering, everything works fine. The MOMENT that I apply WPA-TSK (just Like I always have) the laptop will stop communicating with the router and give the error I mentioned above. All of the passwords have been entered correctly and all that jazz....

I read around online, and see that others have this issue as well - but no real solutions or explanations were available....

Any thoughts? Would it be a sign of a faulty router - or is it all software related?

There were no known updates to the router or the laptop previous to this... Also, my wife's laptop (also on the same network) stopped working at this time as well....that leads me to believe that it is an issue with the router and not my laptop.

So.... any thoughts?

Thanks a TON,

Matt!

Psi 01-22-10 10:12 AM

Re: WPA encryption prevents laptop from acquiring network address....all of the sudde

Have you tried to redo the WPA-TSK set-up from the beginning, including re-entering the password? I had one case where the router seemed to "forget" the password, and doing the set-up all over again fixed the problem.