Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Need help with MiniDV Camcorder PC transfer.

Old 09-02-05, 08:25 PM
Banned

Need help with MiniDV Camcorder PC transfer.

I just got a new Sony MiniDV camcorder (DCR-HC90). I've never owned one and I am a complete novice. How do I transfer the video to a PC? It came with some crappy software and all I can get is a 320x240 .avi file. I want to get full res video to my PC where I can burn it to DVDs. Do I need a capture card if it's digital?
Old 09-02-05, 09:30 PM

I just tried transferring my video from my MiniDV camcorder. It took me a while to figure out how it all worked. I ended up using a program called WinDV to capture the video from my camcorder. It took some playing with, but the video looked fine after I was done. You can transfer it to your pc using the Windows Movie Maker if you have Windows XP.
Old 09-05-05, 09:38 PM
Banned

I tried Windows Movie Maker, but the highest it will do is a 640x480 .avi which is highly compressed. Is that the limit of .avis? Also the other prog you posted wouldn't work for me.

Any other ideas?
Old 09-06-05, 06:03 AM

Unfortunately, those are the only 2 programs that I know of personally. I had some trouble with WinDV when I tried to use it the first time. I couldn't find a help file to explain all the options in the program. At first, I couldn't get it to find my camcorder even though it was attached to my computer. There is a check box beside the capture button that had to be checked for it to find my camcorder.

What kind of problems were you having with WinDV?
Old 09-06-05, 09:35 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by hector031
What kind of problems were you having with WinDV?
Sounds like the exact thing you just described. I'll have to give that one another shot.