Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

How do I get Mcafee Privecy Service to stop blocking the 'New Thread' Button?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

How do I get Mcafee Privecy Service to stop blocking the 'New Thread' Button?

Old 07-18-04, 06:55 PM
  #1  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Capitol of the Empire! Center of all Commerce and Culture! Crossroads of Civilization! NEW ROME!!!...aka New York City
Posts: 10,909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How do I get Mcafee Privecy Service to stop blocking the 'New Thread' Button?

I installed McAfee's Privecy Service and the adblock function removes this forums buttons...how do I re-configure to prevent this?
Old 07-18-04, 07:36 PM
  #2  
Mod Emeritus
 
benedict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Outside of the U.S.A.
Posts: 10,674
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Click the "Info For New Members" link towards the top of the page and scroll down to the section headed "MISSING BUTTONS".

[I am assuming that you can reinterpret the instructions for Norton so that they fit with McAfee].
Old 07-20-04, 08:26 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
DaBargainHunta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 380
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have the same problem with McAfee too. The DVD Talk instructions for Norton don't help at all. Anyone know what to do?
Old 07-21-04, 12:51 AM
  #4  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Bartertown due to it having a better economy than where I really live, Buffalo NY
Posts: 29,706
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
never used that program, but it's probably blocking ads.kleinman.com
the setting is probably under a heading suck as blocked sites or something related to advertisements
Old 07-21-04, 11:25 AM
  #5  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Capitol of the Empire! Center of all Commerce and Culture! Crossroads of Civilization! NEW ROME!!!...aka New York City
Posts: 10,909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The problem is that theres just a radio button with

*Block ads
* Do not block ads
Old 07-21-04, 01:16 PM
  #6  
Mod Emeritus
 
benedict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Outside of the U.S.A.
Posts: 10,674
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
http://download.mcafee.com/products/clinic/manual/MPS_UserGuide_Apr03.pdf

Is this any use?
Allowing Web Sites

The Administrator can allow all users to view specific Web sites. This overrides Privacy Service’s default settings.
1. Sign In to Privacy Service as the Administrator. The Privacy Service window opens to the Select A User page.
2. Click Options, and then click the Allow List tab.
3. In the http:// box, enter the URL of the Web site that you want to allow [e.g. ads.kleinman.com] and click Add. The Web site appears in the Allowed Web Sites area in the center of the window.
4. Close the Privacy Service window if you are finished making changes.
Old 07-21-04, 01:27 PM
  #7  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Capitol of the Empire! Center of all Commerce and Culture! Crossroads of Civilization! NEW ROME!!!...aka New York City
Posts: 10,909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ill check when I get home, but I believe thats for allowing a child to view certian websites that the software would normally block

i.e. If you want your 5 year old to see how the progress is going on your Aryan Power! website.
Old 07-21-04, 07:24 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
DaBargainHunta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 380
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by Tommy Ceez
The problem is that theres just a radio button with

*Block ads
* Do not block ads
Yep, there doesn't seem to be any way to unblock only certain ads. If anyone knows the solution to this, it would be MUCH appreciated.
Old 07-21-04, 08:45 PM
  #9  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
nazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Land of the Free
Posts: 5,989
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I thought I had found the solution a while back for this with my McAffee. I still don't understand why it didn't work and can only view the buttons if I shut off the blocker completely.

I went into change user settings / change settings / Configure Popup Blocking / Exclusions

I added ads.kleinman.com to be excluded from filtering but it did not solve the problem. It seemed like it should have.

Last edited by nazz; 07-22-04 at 06:29 PM.
Old 07-22-04, 06:29 PM
  #10  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
nazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Land of the Free
Posts: 5,989
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I thought I'd give this a bump since this is a very annoying problem for us McAfee users here on DVDTalk.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.