Reload this Page >

Can somone help me with upgrading?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 01-12-04, 12:07 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm 18 and I started college last fall. I'm majoring in Engineering, so I'm going to be using my PC now more than ever (especially this semester). I still live at home and my parents have a computer that is a couple of years old, but someone is on it all the time. We still have our old computer that we bought in 1998, and I've decided to put it in my room so that I won't have to ever worry about not having access to a computer. The monitor and printer are fine, and I can't afford to buy a new computer, so I'm going to upgrade (that is, unless it would be cheaper to buy a new computer ) and I need some help.

Right now, my computer has:
Windows 95
233 MHz processor
32 MB RAM
6.0 GB Hard Drive
24x CD ROM

So, I guess my question is what kind of upgrades do you recommend and about how much would it cost? I'm also thinking about getting a CD burner for it, but I'm not sure yet.
Old 01-12-04, 12:28 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Sorry but that platform is not a upgrade candidate. I keep a system like that in the closet as a backup and linux hobby box and even with it having Windows 98 and 64MB Ram it's painfully slow when even surfing the web which is all I can do with it with a MS OS running on it.

If on a real tight budget alot of companies are selling Dell corporate off-lease PC's with PIII CPU's/256 Ram/10GB hard drive/CD-Rom for under $100. Nothing cutting edge but atleast usable.
Old 01-12-04, 12:28 AM
Suspended

Go to Dell w/ discount coupons using google and get a $500 P4 system. Also sign up w/ the Dell.com news letter. They offer further discount coupon codes through email all the time.

There's no point in upgrading your system, it's like burning money.
Old 01-12-04, 12:29 AM
DVD Talk Legend

upgrades?