Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

What does "Others are logged on to your computer" mean?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

What does "Others are logged on to your computer" mean?

Old 12-04-03, 01:01 AM
  #1  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 16,701
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What does "Others are logged on to your computer" mean?

I just spent about 90 minutes doing a little surfing and playing a few games at Yahoo, and when I tried to shutdown I got this message:

Others are logged onto your computer.

Shutting down now may cause them to lose data. Do you want to continue?
I have dial-up service, and am running Windows XP Pro.

I shut down, of course, then got back on and shut down again, didn't get the message. I got back on again to make this post.

Last night I downloaded the Windows Media Bonus Pack for Windows XP (a Microsoft product). Tonight I didn't watch use Windows Media Player, was this message somehow related to that?

Or was somebody hacking into my system? I have just run Ad Aware 6.0, there were a few data tracking files (which I deleted), but nothing unusual.

Thanks!
Old 12-04-03, 01:07 AM
  #2  
Stealth Moderator
 
namja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: In Transit, HQ
Posts: 25,006
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Do you have a home network? Connected to any other computers at home?
Old 12-04-03, 02:24 AM
  #3  
X
Administrator
 
X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1987
Location: AA-
Posts: 10,764
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Sounds like someone was mapped to (sharing) your drive(s).
Old 12-04-03, 09:34 AM
  #4  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 16,701
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There's no home network, it is a stand-alone computer.

So somebody was trying to store stuff on my hard drive, or they may have been browsing around looking for music or whatever?

How can I prevent this in the future?
Old 12-04-03, 11:27 AM
  #5  
DVD Talk Platinum Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Maumee, OH, USA
Posts: 3,338
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
I get this message on my XP system when I switch users. My wife and I have seperate logins for the machine, so if I switch from one to the other by using the Logout feature, I get this message when I shut down every time.
Old 12-04-03, 03:46 PM
  #6  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 16,701
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by bralph
I get this message on my XP system when I switch users...
Hmm... I think you've hit the nail on the head. As I remember, when I went to the machine it was turned on to the log-in screen, and my wife and I have a different account thant the kids. They must have been on and logged off, but not turned off the computer. Thanks!
Old 12-04-03, 03:46 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
this is caused when you have other users who share your computer. ditto,with what bralph said..

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.