Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Dvd-r ????

Old 01-14-03, 01:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dvd-r ????

Does anyone have a DVD-R here, i am considering getting the new Sony or Pioneer DVD-R, does anyone have any advice or experiences with them ???

Also does anyone know how much the media costs for them ? I want to do a back up of my current DVD's. How much does a blank CD cost.

Thanks guys
Ryan
Old 01-14-03, 03:40 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Welcome to the forum Ryan. I've been using the Pioneer 104 for a few months now and I've been really happy with it. I haven't burned any DVD-RW discs, but all the DVD-R discs I've burned have been readable on every drive/player I've tried so far.

I buy my blanks from Meritline. I've been sticking to branded media so I spend about $2.50 per disc. With the no name generics, they can get under a $1 per disc, but your risk or running into problems rises.

Discussions about backing up copyrighted materials is frowned upon by the founder/owner of this forum, so we don't get into that here. Most everything else, though, if you have questions, feel free to ask.
Old 01-14-03, 05:35 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Dexter,

For the record, DVD-R drives only burn on DVD-R media. (Same goes for -RW, and then there's the +R and +RW which only burn on those discs) ANYWAY, you can't use a regular CD-R disc to make a DVD with a DVD burner.

Just wanted to clear that up incase your mention of CD wasn't a typo.
Old 01-14-03, 05:47 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Re: Dvd-r ????

Originally posted by dexter757
I want to do a back up of my current DVD's.
Not only is this frowned upon around here, it's impractical.