Search
Streaming Talk The Place to talk about streaming video and audio

Blu-ray with streaming apps vs dedicated stream machine

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-14, 09:04 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Blu-ray with streaming apps vs dedicated stream machine

What is the advantage of having a dedicated streaming machine like a Roku if you have a Blu-ray player or game console with streaming apps?

I am new to the whole streaming thing. I am getting tired of paying for cable when I only ever watch maybe 10 channels. So I am thinking of becoming a cord cutter as well, and I am trying to learn about all the different streaming options. It looks like I could pretty easily get by with a Hulu/Netflix subscription and an over-the-air antenna.

Why though would I want something like a Roku when my Blu-ray player has streaming apps?
Old 12-03-14, 09:05 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 1,022 Likes on 812 Posts
Re: Blu-ray with streaming apps vs dedicated stream machine

More apps, and the apps they share tend to be updated more regularly than their Blu-ray player counterparts are the main ones for me. Plus my experience with Blu-ray player software was never very positive (generally sluggish, though that's probably changed by now).
Old 12-03-14, 09:24 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by RichC2
More apps, and the apps they share tend to be updated more regularly than their Blu-ray player counterparts are the main ones for me. Plus my experience with Blu-ray player software was never very positive (generally sluggish, though that's probably changed by now).
Thanks. I don't think I really need more apps other than Hulu and Netflix. Those two seem to cover all the bases. Hulu has current TV seasons, and Netflix has older TV seasons and movies.

What about game console streaming apps? Are they any better than Blu-ray player apps? I have been thinking about getting a PS4 sometime soon.