Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

CDNOW - mixing pre-orders and in stock items...dangerous?

Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

CDNOW - mixing pre-orders and in stock items...dangerous?

Old 08-09-00, 04:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This is my first time ordering from CDNOW... Their prices and shipping rates are highly unattractive but i took advantage of a free gc and the 10 dollar off 20 coupon as well as discounts through discover card for 15% off. My question is how are they when orders are mixed with pre-orders and in stock items. I've heard some horror stories with them and do I have anything to worry about? Do you think I will get my order promptly? Any experiences? btw i ordered platoon w/ a august 15 release date and High and Low Criterion.
Old 08-09-00, 07:59 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

If your non-preorder items are in stock, they usually ship a few days after you place your order...this has been my experience when I've mixed them with pre-orders. If they're not in stock...well, I don't know.

If you have preorders that ship on different dates, sometimes they will hold the entire order until all of them are in stock; other times they will ship them as they come in.
Old 08-09-00, 08:10 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

And will charge extra shipping, which is atrocious to say the least.
Old 08-09-00, 09:22 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Your asking for trouble......

You might get your stuff early, or 2 months late.

------------------
OrO?!

Himura Kenshin - Ruroni Kenshin
Old 08-09-00, 11:58 PM

I had two pre-orders at CDnow and both were backordered for 2-3 weeks (ended up being 3 weeks to the day) on the day of their release. I avoid CDnow at all costs. YMMV.
Old 08-10-00, 01:22 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

quote:<HR>Originally posted by axolotls return:
And will charge extra shipping, which is atrocious to say the least.<HR>