Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

Amazon Pre-order titles- Do they ship before release dates?

Community
Search
Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-02, 11:09 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm going to pre-order Resident Evil from Amazon. I've never used Amazon before, but I was wondering if they ship pre-order DVD's before they are released, like a few days in advance, or do they wait for the release date to ship?
Old 07-08-02, 12:53 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Amazon never has had the best record for getting DVDs delivered before or on the official release date. Most of my orders arrive a day or two after. Typically they seem to ship between Saturday and Monday before they are released.
Old 07-08-02, 07:53 AM
eau
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Out of countless of orders placed at Amazon, I've gotten only one order delivered on Friday before the release date! Most were shipped on Sat/Sun/Monday before release date and arrived on Thurs/Friday. One order didn't ship until more than 3 months after release eventhough it was available all along.

I like Amazon using custom carton mailers for single dvd shipments, and oversized boxes for multiple dvd shipments. They offer better protection than the typical bubble mailers used by most online stores.
Old 07-08-02, 12:55 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

No... Amazon ships on street date or possibly one day before if you get lucky...
Old 07-08-02, 04:22 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame