Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Weed smoking mountain hiking friend upset because I pointed out the dangers of hiking

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Weed smoking mountain hiking friend upset because I pointed out the dangers of hiking

Old 07-29-15, 10:28 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

A friend of mine is an avid "mountain hiker" (not climber) and calls himself a self-taught expert. He's been doing this for 20 years, hiking mountains two to three times a year on his own (he's married and has three children).
Yesterday he posted on Facebook a pamphlet containing "Golden Rules" of mountain hiking at this specific mountain he is planning to go to this weekend. The first Golden Rule says "never go mountain hiking alone, always bring a partner" and he kind of mocks the first rule because he always goes hiking alone and "this rule does not apply to me."

Now, I had no intention making his business my business but out of curiosity I asked him what he would do if he was hit by a falling rock leaving him injured or unable to walk.
He responded with "there are always risks and besides, how many people die every year in car accidents." So I replied "dying in a car accident is tragic. Dying on a mountain because you went alone and didn't obey golden rules is Darwin Award material."

After my reply his friends and family chimed in sort of questioning the safety of his outdoor activities. He later send me a private message thanking me for ruining his weekend and getting his family all riled up.

He claims his mountain hiking contains very little actual climbing and does not require climbing gear. He usually follows a marked trail / path leading up the mountain. Though over the years he has posted minor bruises and cuts, and one time he got lost in the woods for a couple of hours. He also told me he loves to smoke weed once he's on top of the mountain.