Reload this Page >

Roommates gone for the summer...what should I charge them

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 04-10-07, 08:38 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time dealing with this so any advice would be appreciated. I currently rent a 4 bedroom 3 bath house. I have one roommate living with me and another who had planned to move in this summer.

My current roommate just accepted an internship out of state and will be gone for part of May, all of June and July and part of August so pretty much 3 months give or take a week or two depending on the actual dates. The other roommate also accepted an internship out of state and now won't be moving in till the fall. What do I charge them? The new roommate said she would have no problem paying some type of storage fee since her stuff will be moved in, and the other roommate has said she doesn't want to lose her room either so would be willing to pay something while she is gone.

While they are gone most bills won't change such as phone, internet, rent and Directv, and I don't see electric changing much either. Any suggestions.
Old 04-10-07, 08:46 PM
DVD Talk Legend

The lump sum?
Old 04-10-07, 08:48 PM
DVD Talk Legend

What do you have in writing....?
Old 04-10-07, 08:48 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Full price for the one who is already there with most cut off for the utilities. You'll have to eat much of the costs on those. Rent share should be full, though. It would be anywhere else - my mortgage doesn't stop if I go away for the summer.

Comparable to a climate-controlled storage locker fee for the new one.
Old 04-10-07, 08:49 PM
Video Gamer Reviewers

They should be their full share of the rent, regardless as to whether or not they are living there.
Old 04-10-07, 08:50 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

If I go out of town for a month, my roommate still charges me rent, understandably. I don't just pay for it when I use it, I pay for it period.
Old 04-10-07, 08:52 PM