Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Car loan., what's the best way to do this?

Other Talk "Otterville"

Old 09-14-06, 03:07 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've never had to take a loan until now. I'm finishing grad. school in December and was wondering if I did apply for a student loan now to get situated, that it would be smart because it would be subsidized by the government and I'd have a lower interest rate? I have a job I'm starting as soon as I graduate in December, so I will have a steady income very soon. I'm planning on buying a car a shade under $20k. Would it be best to get the loan than finance the car, so I am not paying so much money at one time? Also that way I'll have enough money for car tax, insurance, gas, etc. I'm a totally newb to this stuff, and wanted to get your guys opinion first since there are knowledgeable folks here.
Old 09-14-06, 07:55 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best advice I've ever heard with buying a car is to pay cash. If you don't have that much money, see what you can afford with the amount of cash you have.
Old 09-14-06, 09:48 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
While it is true that the best way is to pay cash, this guy is just getting out of college (albeit at 27).

What rate would be the student loan be at if you were to take it?

And in general, here are the steps to take if when buying a new car:

1. Save up at least a couple thousand for use as a down payment. If you donít have a couple thousand, just make car payments to yourself for five months or so. If you canít afford to make car payments to yourself then how are you going to make car payments to somebody else?

2. Check your credit history at www.annualcreditreports.com , you can get the report from all three agencies once a year. (DO NOT go to freecreditreports.com, that is a pay site).