Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

How thick is (paint) primer supposed to be?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 02-17-05, 02:52 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm wanting to paint a wooden rack, but I think it'd be better to be primed first. I have some old Behr Premium Plus primer and sealer that my wife had before we got married, so it's at least a couple years old. The can was almost full. It didn't have the normal "skin" on top which usually makes me throw whatever it is away.

But it doesn't have the consistency of normal paint. Instead, it's almost like melted marshmallows, and was a bitch to stir. Is primer supposed to be thicker than regular paint? I've never used it before....
Old 02-17-05, 03:00 PM
Uber Member

It varies. If this isn't going to be any near a harsh environment (bathrooms or outdoors, or anywhere it'll be exposed to a lot of water) then I wouldn't worry about it too much as long as it still paints on smoothly.

I've used primer that's been thinner than what you'd normally expect paint to be, as well as thicker. It can depend on the brand sometimes too.
Old 02-17-05, 03:13 PM
Banned

There are different kinds of primers, and it's somewhat important to make sure you have the right one. The primer is what's holding the paint on, and thus it's more important than the actual paint, most of the time.

For interior wood, use a water based primer, unless it's pine in which case you should use an oil based primer. If the wood is to stay outside, a thick oil or latex based primer will allow the wood to breathe more and prevent the paint from peeling due to varying weather conditions.

Also, primer, like paint, is sensitive to temperature. If this primer you have has been sitting outside in the garage, it may be thicker because it's cold. Let it warm up a day or two and see if that helps any.