Reload this Page >

Need help setting up 401(k)!

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 02-15-05, 01:31 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm a 31-year old technology analyst setting up 401(k) for the first time at my 10-month old job. I plan on having this job a while if it matters. My question is, should I use one of the predefined investment mixes, as pictured below, or should I customize my diversification? I don't know shite about investing, which is why I'm asking. If one of the following investment mixes are recommended, which should I go with? I was thinking of having 10% deducted from my check for 401(k) (they will match 100% up to 5%) and 10% for stock purchase. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Here are the investment mixes:

Old 02-15-05, 01:34 PM
DVD Talk Legend

High-Yield Bonds!!!
Old 02-15-05, 01:45 PM
DVD Talk Legend

I'd stick with an S&P 500 index fund. Since you're young, I'd ignore everyone's crap about diversification to spread risk, figuring that a 10-year risk on the market itself is just as low or lower--and you'll pay nearly *no* fees, which is where the big difference comes in.

I'm a cynical bastard, but to me, nearly all "investment mixes" are gimmicks with high fees.
Old 02-15-05, 02:05 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Please include as much detail as possible, as I have no idea what I'm doing here. Thanks!
Old 02-15-05, 02:14 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Perhaps other people will chime in with more traditional/conventional views, but for a great read about the general problem with mutual funds (and why a simple index fund is typically a better bet in the long run) check out this link.

You should read it all, maybe 10 pages. Very easy for newbies, and very different than what your 401k provider will tell you.

http://www.fool.com/money/401k/401k.htm
Old 02-15-05, 02:28 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame