Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Listen to and critque my drumming.

Community
Search
Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-10, 06:25 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have been playing for about 2 years. The last 6 months Ive been playing fairly regular. Give me your honest thoughts and constructive criticism. Thanks!

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/4fYZqdyihRI&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4fYZqdyihRI&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>
Old 05-10-10, 11:02 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Location: the kingdom of the evil Voratians, ruled by the wicked Ak-Oga
Received 85 Likes on 48 Posts
Re: Listen to and critque my drumming.

1. You're awfully rigid for someone who's been playing for 2 years. Do you have a not-completely-natural sense of rhythm that keeps you from playing looser?
2. Work on some more creative fills with those toms and lay off the snare a little. You've got to get that left hand into the action more, and not just have it beatin' the 2 and 4, you know what I mean? Practice a 16 beat, where you're working the hi-hat on the 16th notes with both sticks, and hitting the snare with the right hand on the 2 and 4.
3. Try not to play things that are too fast until you're pretty darn exceptional on the slower stuff. Just like any instrument, work your way up. Don't try too much too fast, and don't try and play things that are beyond your capabilities.

Hope you took all that as constructive, because it was definitely intended to be.
Old 05-11-10, 01:52 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Originally Posted by The Infidel