Community
Search
Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Post-metal...

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-06, 11:09 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Post-metal...

I can't really think of a label for this type of music but the critics seem to label it "post-metal". I've been listening to bands like Isis, Boris, Mono and Pelican. They combine crunching riffs with the "shoegaze" soundscapes of bands like My Bloody Valentine and Godspeed You Black Emperor.

Anyway, I'm just getting started on this genre and everything I've heard has been terrific, particularly Isis' "Panopticon" and Boris' "Pink". In fact, both albums are so good I'm surprised that I hadn't heard more about them from "best of" lists etc.

Any other suggestions from people more in the know?
Old 11-17-06, 12:52 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I agree about Isis. I haven't heard more than a few songs, but really like what I've heard, and they were great live opening for Tool.
Old 11-17-06, 12:53 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 228 Likes on 145 Posts
Originally Posted by Hiro11
I can't really think of a label for this type of music but the critics seem to label it "post-metal". I've been listening to bands like Isis, Boris, Mono and Pelican. They combine crunching riffs with the "shoegaze" soundscapes of bands like My Bloody Valentine and Godspeed You Black Emperor.

Anyway, I'm just getting started on this genre and everything I've heard has been terrific, particularly Isis' "Panopticon" and Boris' "Pink". In fact, both albums are so good I'm surprised that I hadn't heard more about them from "best of" lists etc.

Any other suggestions from people more in the know?