Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Movie Talk
Reload this Page >

Spielberg and electric toothbrushes

Community
Search
Movie Talk A Discussion area for everything movie related including films In The Theaters

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-02, 02:11 PM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

While studying the supplementary material on the A.I. DVD, I have been shocked at one of Spielberg's explanation. To further illustrate the notion of artificial intelligence, he gives the very weird example of being emotionnally entwined with an electric toothbrush. (interview on disc 1)

I watched this sequence again and again while trying to figure what could be Spielberg's real intent, what was the unseen force that motivated him to compulsively talk about electric toothbrushes. I even noticed nervous spasms every time he prononced the words "electric toothbrush".

While I consider Spielberg a true auteur, I started studying the implication of the theme of the electric toothbrush in the famous director's body of work. I realised that it represents a motif, or "leitmotiv", something that reaches very deep in his wonderful heart, the place of the toothbrush in our society, past, present and future.

What I found out was terribly shocking and fascinating. The theme is much more present than we could imagine.

Starting by his most recent work, Minority Report, we can identify in the film a scene including an electric toothbrush. In this scene in which a technician lovingly brushes the pre-cog's teeth, we perceive exquisite eroticism, very rare in Spielberg's work. Notice that the toothbrush is in close-up, forcing the viewer to acknowledge its presence, how it dances with the characters (and us!) like the plastic bag in American Beauty, a film produced by Dreamworks, Spielberg's company.

The interview found on A.I.'s dvd can also be considered as part of the auteur's conceptual continuity.