Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

using a uk player in usa

International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

using a uk player in usa

Old 10-05-05, 05:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
using a uk player in usa

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here and looking forward to having a place to discuss DVD things!

My question is this... We are looking to purchase (in the UK) a portable DVD player that we can take on vacation with us to places like France, Cyprus, and most importantly - the US. We'd like to be able to plug it in to the hotel TV set - is this possible? Would the PAL/NTSC be any issue with a portable DVD player? (would be using our own dvds that we bring with us)

Sorry if that sounds a dumb question but I have no clue with this stuff, and can't find much clear and definitive info on the net.

Thanks in advance
Rachel
Old 10-05-05, 06:53 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Most portable players are compatible with both PAL and NTSC, and many can be made region free easily. Try looking up the model # on www.videohelp.com.

Europe uses a different voltage than the US, so you will need a voltage convertor. You should be able to pick one up in any travel shop.
Old 10-05-05, 12:24 PM

you know, i think a lot of portable players in the UK arent necessarily worth it - if you look at retailers selling japanese electronics (yesasia.com or j-list) they have small portable players without screens and with multiregion funtionality - if your carting around a screen and plugging it into a TV then its much better all round... i think.
Old 10-06-05, 07:43 AM