DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   International DVD Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/international-dvd-talk-12/)
-   -   using a uk player in usa (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/international-dvd-talk/440419-using-uk-player-usa.html)

Coastergirl 10-05-05 05:59 AM

using a uk player in usa

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here and looking forward to having a place to discuss DVD things!

My question is this... We are looking to purchase (in the UK) a portable DVD player that we can take on vacation with us to places like France, Cyprus, and most importantly - the US. We'd like to be able to plug it in to the hotel TV set - is this possible? Would the PAL/NTSC be any issue with a portable DVD player? (would be using our own dvds that we bring with us)

Sorry if that sounds a dumb question but I have no clue with this stuff, and can't find much clear and definitive info on the net.

Thanks in advance
Rachel

Josh Z 10-05-05 06:53 AM

Most portable players are compatible with both PAL and NTSC, and many can be made region free easily. Try looking up the model # on www.videohelp.com.

Europe uses a different voltage than the US, so you will need a voltage convertor. You should be able to pick one up in any travel shop.

logboy 10-05-05 12:24 PM

you know, i think a lot of portable players in the UK arent necessarily worth it - if you look at retailers selling japanese electronics (yesasia.com or j-list) they have small portable players without screens and with multiregion funtionality - if your carting around a screen and plugging it into a TV then its much better all round... i think.

Coastergirl 10-06-05 07:43 AM