International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

HKL; bootlegs; versions -- lots of questions

Old 09-25-02, 01:28 PM

HKL; bootlegs; versions -- lots of questions

Hello to all. I'm very new to DVD and this message board. Because my main movie interest is Asian films, it can be a bit overwhelming what with all the different versions, etc... So, in a bit, I'll list my questions and confusions and let y'all have at them. But first, some background.

Like most of you here, I prefer the original version of a film, not a version that has been chopped or re-edited by a distributor (I even signed that on-line petition; #8800). So, when searching for Iron Monkey, Jet Li movies, Drunken Master II, etc..., I've been going to eBay and buying the HK version. Seems simple enough, although I try to do my homework if there are several Asian versions so I get the best one. (This is not always easy).

I've picked up about 15 DVDs this way and am planning on bidding on 10-20 more very soon. The two sellers I've used I have been VERY pleased with. Average DVD price of $8 with very reasonable shipping. Movies look and sound good, although probably not as good as the U.S. restored, anamorphic versions (I guess that's the choice–do you want the real movie, or an edited version that looks better? grr.)

QUESTION #1: A lot of people say "beware of Asian bootlegs" or "don't buy region 0 or all-region discs." But this shouldn't apply to films originally made in HK, right? I mean, I can understand that a U.S. film sold out of China on a DVD may be a bootleg, but the movies I'm buying? What are the chances? The ones I've received are sealed and appear factory new.