Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > HD Talk
Reload this Page >

New HD Customer... HELP!!!

Community
Search
HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-08, 01:44 PM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys, im new to HD and im new to this site, i know a bit about hd but i have some questions.. can anyone please help!!???!!
I purchased a 50 inch vizio 1080p full hdtv , its hooked up to my hd cable box and ps3 both connected with monster cable hdmi. The picture is good, but i feel like it should be alot better, i adjusted the settings for both my box and my ps3, im wondering if there are any settings i should put on my ps3 for the blu-ray that will make my picture as good as it possibly can?? and if there are any pointers that anyone knows that i should put on my tv or any other devices so that i get good picture? thanks alot guys... really!
Joe
Old 09-03-08, 01:50 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 314 Likes on 215 Posts
the default answer to a question like this is usually to calibrate your TV settings with a disc such as Video Essentials.
Old 09-03-08, 01:51 PM
Suspended

Received 101 Likes on 87 Posts
Return the $90 Monster HDMI cable and go buy a $5 one from monoprice.com.

Use the $85 in savings to buy POTC, Bee Movie, and Cars.

You'll thank me later.
Old 09-03-08, 01:54 PM
Cool New Member

oh man, ok monoprice has better cables then monster?
Old 09-03-08, 02:00 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Originally Posted by JJOOEEY
oh man, ok monoprice has better cables then monster?
let's say for HDMI they are equal and you can buy 20 monoprice cables for the price of one monster cable.

caibrate your tv.

is it plasma or lcd?

how long ago did you get it?
Old 09-03-08, 02:06 PM
Cool New Member