Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > HD Talk
Reload this Page >

DVD Upscaling via HDMI

Community
Search
HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

DVD Upscaling via HDMI

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-06, 06:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DVD Upscaling via HDMI

Hi all,
I'm pretty new to everything HD, and have had my set under a week.

As soon as I got it I ordered a DVD player with HDMI out.. that upscales DVDs.

My problem is, most dvds actually look worse when displayed at HD (any resolution) via HDMI.. then when I watched them on the same player VIA AV cables.

For example, adam sandlers Bulletproof.. an old movie so I didnt expect a big difference.. but it was horrible! all the colours were faded and looked to me mereging.. ecspecially dark colours.

Played it via AV and it looked as it should.

Just got the breakup and new superman dvds tonight.
Popped the break up in and played via HD and it looked good, I will say that but I still had the same problem with dark colours (t-shirts hair...)
And some bluryness.. any suggestions on how to stop this?

When I go to the dvd players setup menu everything including the background image looks crystal clear.. but everything else.. not so good.

It's really knocked my confidence in HD.

Just to note I am using a HDMI to DVI converter cable (a high quality one)
I don't see how this can be the problem, because as I said the setup menu is crystal clear.
Old 12-09-06, 07:33 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

You don't mention what player you bought. It is entirely possible that your player is crap, or that something is not set up correctly.
Old 12-09-06, 07:41 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts